I fell in love...then had to leave!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Centre » Tours
September 27th 2009
Published: September 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

BesanconBesanconBesancon

This was my house in Besancon!
Bonjour a tous !! Remember me ?

I’m sorry I haven’t written an a while…I haven’t had much internet at all this past week! Needless to say, this is going to be a long update!!!!

I can’t believe a month has gone by already and that I’m settled into my final location. It’s unreal! Leaving Besancon was hard. Not many people loved the city because it was so small….but that’s why I did love it. I felt comfortable…found my bearings…and had a great family to live with. I’m pretty sure I went out with a bang though! I was debating whether or not to mention this in the blog because it’s not very appropriate but it was an innocent mistake and feel like sharing my humiliation! Like I said before, last week my host brother had his confirmation. We had a formal dinner at their house with their entire family and two priests. At the end of the meal, Alix asked me if I was doing okay. Instead of saying “yes, I’m doing great” I said I was good in the wrong context. I announced to the entire family and priests that I am good in bed….yikes!!! After that
ParisParisParis

Me with the BEAUTIFUL Eiffel Tower!
I choked on some meat and grabbed my water….which was actually white wine and chugged it without realizing it wasn’t water until I nearly choked again on the effects of the wine. I don’t think those priests are going to forget the Loose Winoholic American who smiles because she has no idea what’s going on anytime soon. Great job Alana! Mission Accomplished!

Anyways, the goodbye was difficult. Ines, my little sidekick cried as she kissed me goodbye which in turn made me upset. I felt so bad 😞 They made me a little packet of recipes with drawings on the back from each child. It was so sweet. We then all hopped on the bus and left Besancon for PARIS!!! We arrived at our housing…which was called the C.I.S.P with tiny double rooms and ity bity bathrooms. Jackie and I were lucky, we were given one of the rooms that actually had a toilet in it! The shower was so small that you can’t really lift your arms and I ended up overflowing the shower everytime I took one. They really will do anything to force you not to take long showers! I’ve gotten used to turning the water
ParisParisParis

It never gets old :)
on and off while washing and shampooing. Not really ideal for shaving legs with goosebumps! Ouch!

We spent the rest of the day on a Batobus tour exploring Paris and later that night we went to the top of the Eiffel Tower. Seeing everyone’s expression after they saw the Eiffel Tower lit up was just priceless. It never gets old 😊 The following nights were spent in the city as well. After class on Tuesday around 5pm, a bunch of us went to the top of the Arc de Triumphe. Getting there was a bit of a struggle! There is an underground tunner you have to take because of the enourmous circular street with about 10 lanes of cars. Steven and I got separated from the group and made a very poor decision to cross the street because we couldn’t find the tunnel! He grabbed my hand and he yelled “HELP ME LORD JESUS!!!” the entire time we were crossing. It was probably the most hilarious street crossing ever made but I will NEVER do it again. We were very lucky we didn’t get hurt or in trouble for that matter! Anyways, we made it to the top and
ParisParisParis

The Arc de Triumphe!
was reunited with our group. It was time to head back for dinner and I was secretely hoping in my mind we could stay for the sunset because that it the most beautiful, incredible, breathtaking view. I decided that I was staying and whoever wanted to stay with me could. Zack and Carolyn stayed with me and the three of us together watched the amazing unset. 😊 Since we missed dinner, we went to a little sandwich place and walked over to have a picnic in front of the Eiffel Tower. It was by far, one of the best nights of my life. I completely fell in love with Paris all over again. Though we had amazing evenings, we did have busy days. We had our IUFM classes and seminars where we were spoken to about the French Education System again and our duties while we are here. I keep thinking about being in France and improving my speaking abilities but haven’t realized that I’m actually going to be helping people too. Aside from teaching highschool I will also be teaching teachers how to perfect their English at the IUFM. How cool! 😊 We were also told to brush up
ParisParisParis

The top of the Are de Triumphe...My favorite place in Paris :)
on our politics, the healthcare system, the economic crises, capitalism, and life in “Obamaland” because we represent the American opinion. Anyone who knows me well can probably guess my reaction to this. Holy Crap what the heck am I going to do?! I’ve got some studying to do!!!!!!!!!!

Alright on to the next phase…leaving Paris was harder than leaving Besancon because it was time for us all to go our separate ways. I was so upset leaving everyone I couldn’t even talk because the second I would have opened my mouth tears would have just poured out of my eyes. Luckily there were 5 of us at the same train station so we left together. THANK GOD. Getting to train station with all our luggage was a hilarious nightmare! It took about 20 minutes to walk from the C.I.S.P. to the metro station. There were 4 of us girls and one boy. Yen, the smallest of the group, had no idea what was about to come his way!!! I had a 70 lb suitcase, a 20 lb carryon, and a 10 lb bag that I had to somehow manage up and down about 10 flights of stairs. Yen was
ParisParisParis

This is what Steven and I crossed....don't worry mom, it won't happen again!!!! teehee
a saint…he made so many trips up and down each flight of stairs and helped us all. You would have thought he was Hercules!!! The French around us were very helpful as well…there were a couple times men in business suits would just grab my suitcase from me and run it up the steps and be on their merry way. So nice. 😊 After two hours, we made it to the train station and one by one everyone started leaving. I was the last one to leave so I saw everyone off…. 😞 I took the TGV and holy moly does it fly!! I made it to Tours in only 50 minutes! Daniel, my contact at the IUFM picked me up from the train station and brought me to the IUFM. He kind of looks like Steve Tyler. He has a little longer curly hair and an earing. He was so nice though and took good care of me! I met my cooperating teacher and she said the students are very excited to meet me! I’ll be at the high school Mondays and Fridays and the IUFM inbetween. The only down fall is that I have a 50 minute commute
ParisParisParis

Such a beautiful sunset :)
to the highschool. That’s ok though…not complaining!

My host family is nice. Im the first person they’ve ever hosted so it’s a new experience from both ends. They speak English and were excited to have a native English speaker to speak with especially for the kids. That’s fine as long as we can speak French too! Afterall, I am in France!! Veronique and Thierry have two girls, Allison (12) and Axelle (5). They are both teachers, so it’s nice to talk about education with two people who view it so highly. Veronique has her PhD and has written many research studies in professional journals. She's asked me to help her correct her English before it's submitted...what an honor! I had no idea she was this well known in Eduction. I have a huge room with a queen bed and private enormous bathroom!!! I was shocked to see the since I had such a tiny one in Besancon! Their house is big and very calming…there is always classical music playing in the background. Physically, I’m very comfortable here. Emotionally, not yet. I’m sure it will come….it’s just different. It’s weird being away from everyone, but I do plan on seeing
ParisParisParis

Amazing :)
people on the weekends. I’m allowed to have friends come stay here in the house with me since I have a big room so that made me feel better too.

I want to go exploring...but I need a bus card and I can't get a bus card until tomorrow. I'm living in a residental suburb so walking to the center of Tours would take me forever. Tomorrow is my first day at the high school and I'm really excited to meet the students!! I'll let you know how it goes!!

Hope everyone is doing great!

Advertisement



27th September 2009

Jealous...
Stay where you are Alana. Uncle Mike wants to join you. The U.S. is only becoming more divided,and hate filled every day. In preparation I have already stopped showering. I am learning various curse words, and important phrases like "pass the wine", and "which way to the Louvre"? You will fill me in on the rest....Hope you're having a blast !!! Love Ya.
29th September 2009

Thanks for the updates
Hi Alana, first let me say that it is great getting updates from you. You are very entertaining!! I'm so happy that things are going so well and you are happy there. Things here in good old Strongsville are just fine. Today was a cold, cloudy day. Looks like the new shopping center is opening soon. By the time you come back it will probably be finished. Tommy and Ryan are doing well. School is wizzing by and both are happy. Today, we shopped for Halloween costumes and I've got to tell you they both look hilarious. Tommy is going to be Troy Palamolu who is a Steelers player with super long curly hair (found the perfect wig). Ryan is Michael Jackson. Again found a perfect wig at the Halloween store and a sequence jacket at Good Will. Add sunglasses, jeans, white shirt and sox and black loafers and you'd never know it was Ryan. Well, take care and keep writing!!
30th September 2009

memories
Hi Alana, You are bringing back so many memories for me. First time my roommate and I went to the top of the Arc, no one ever told us that there was a tunnel to the arc so we too crossed the circle. Really makes you feel like you have cheated death, doesn't it? In Tours I lived right in town on 43 rue Georget. That was the first time. The second time we were in a suburb across the river, St Cyr, I think. Where are you? I absolutely love that city. I can't wait to hear how you like it. I'm glad you enjoyed Paris which you can probably visit often. It's not that far by train. Also, don't forget to visit all the chateaus. Some people think that if you've seen one, you've seen them all, but I think you'll find that is not the case. Each one has it's own personality and charm, the smalls ones like Azy-le-Rideau to the large ones, like Chambord. I hope you remember some of the things we talked about in French class. Do you remember when the French boy (can't remember his name) couldn't get back on to Chenonceau? Some of those videos were really entertaining, weren't they? Anyway, I am enjoying your blogs tremendously. Keep writing. A bientot. Madame

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0604s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb