Beginning of my Blog...


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Centre » Tours
February 25th 2008
Published: February 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Additional maps: Untitled

Eiffel Tower Eiffel Tower Eiffel Tower

First day of the Spain Trip. Met in Paris and went up the Eiffel Tower
Hi all

This is an easier way of keeping everyone updated on news.

Today is my first day back after the February vacation of two weeks.

For the two week vacation I went to Spain and the south of France on a Rotary trip. We visited a futuristic based park called Futurescope, saw a famous castle outside of Toulouse called Carcassonne, roamed the streets of Girona and visited the Cathedral of Girona and did a full tour of lots of museums and galleries in Barcelona. I loved seeing the architecture of Gaudi in Barcelona, it is really individual and modern but at the same time it is absolutely breathtaking with all the detail. I also really loved the Dali and Picasso museums. Both of their art work was revolutionary in the art world and this was really great to see where a new era of art began! Dali's work is so different I really liked it. The paintings are so, so detailed and I loved all of the optical illusions and 'deeper meanings' within his paintings and artworks. I met lots of fantastic people from all over the world and we all had a great time. A great
Eiffel Tower Eiffel Tower Eiffel Tower

Me and most of the Eiffel Tower...
experience and I'm busting to head back to Spain to drink some more Sangria and have some more Tapes and Paella!

After my week in Spain I went to the mountains with my host family. We were in Massif Central in a tiny town on the side of a mountain called Thiers. Thiers was a huge centre of steel production in the early 20th century but is not like this anymore. It was a really pretty city as it was located on the side of the mountains and you could see across to the ski slops of Massif Central. My family really like visiting old churches and so we saw some of the Cathedrals, Abbeys and churches from the Walk of St Jacques, a spiritual walk that is undertaken by people from all across the world each year in August. I saw lots of tombs and crypts from the 13th and 14th Century which was absolutely amazing. That sort of history to me is just out of this world but I absolutely loved seeing all the beautiful architecture and history behind each of the attractions. One of my favourites was the Cathédrale Notre-Dame-de-l'Assomption de Clermont-ferrand which was black because
CarcassonneCarcassonneCarcassonne

The outside of Carcassonne
it was made out of volcanic rock. There is a string of famous mountains in Clermont Ferrand called the Chaîne des Puys. They are old volcanoes. My host family and I climbed the biggest one called Puy-de-Dôme. Great fun!

Back to school now.... one month and then it is Printemps Vacances (Spring/Easter holidays).






Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

CarcassonneCarcassonne
Carcassonne

Inside the fortified city of Carcassonne
French/Spanish CityFrench/Spanish City
French/Spanish City

This was lunch on the border of France and Spain. There were no taxes so everything was incredibly cheap. We enjoyed a massive lunch and later bought the cheapest liquor any of us had ever seen!
BarcelonaBarcelona
Barcelona

In Park Güell, El Carmel, Barcelona.
BarcelonaBarcelona
Barcelona

In Park Güell, El Carmel, Barcelona with Emily, Catie, Shanda, Megan and I
BarcelonaBarcelona
Barcelona

Gaudi architecture in Barcelona
BarcelonaBarcelona
Barcelona

On the streets of Barcelona
BarcelonaBarcelona
Barcelona

At the 'Stade' for FCB with Emily
BarcelonaBarcelona
Barcelona

On the steps of yet another monument in Barcelona with Emily and Shanda
BarcelonaBarcelona
Barcelona

Say hello to Barcelona!
BarcelonaBarcelona
Barcelona

Inside the Palace of Justice in Barcelona
BarcelonaBarcelona
Barcelona

At the Dali Museum
BarcelonaBarcelona
Barcelona

Everyone on the steps of the Cathedral of Girona
ThiersThiers
Thiers

Thiers streets
ThiersThiers
Thiers

The Cemetry in Thiers...
ThiersThiers
Thiers

The river that runs through the centre of Thiers. The old steel factories are on the sides
ThiersThiers
Thiers

Me in Thiers
BriodeBriode
Briode

At the Abbey in Briode
BriodeBriode
Briode

Inside the Abbey in Briode


26th February 2008

Dali
I actually just started crying when I read you went to see Dali's works I am so so soooooooo SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO incredibly jealous. He is like my idol. IDOL I TELL YOU! oh my goodness I want to cry again!
26th February 2008

DUDE
Okay so we weren't in the same town... but I went to Clermont, Besse and Super Besse. I'm going on that same Rotary trip in June!
26th February 2008

Looks like you're having a great time!
Torie, So glad to see you're having a good time. I'm envious too. I love to travel and see all those things. So the Rotary trip was with other students not with your host family? I am a Rotarian ....apparently they have sponsored this trip for the group? What a treat! You keep mentioning your "first" host family...is there more than one? Is the first one to immerse you into the culture and language then move to another family? The blog is great...thanks so much for sharing...cease the moment...
27th February 2008

omg
hello tor! how random that randoms comment you quere ass myspace/ travle blog!! i have to get me one! i thought you said that you couldnt leave the country wen you go on the roatary thingo ?? any hwo i love you and you look babe! xox

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb