St Jean Pied de Port


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Burgundy
September 2nd 2014
Published: September 2nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

The one thing I was worried about was getting from Bayonne to St Jean. I knew there was a train 3 hrs later whichnwould put me in town at 8pm. I had a hostil confirmed but didn't know where it was. I went outside at the trainstation to smoke a quick cigaret. Looking around I noticed a lot of people with walking sticks and backpacks. One of them came my way so I figured I ll start a chat. He was from the Netherlands and pretty much came here for the same reaso as I did. I asked him how he was getting to st jean and he said he pre ordered a pick up, which costs him less than the train and bus. When the guy finnaly came to pick him up I hitched a ride to st jean. Good deal....



Getting around st jean was a pain. It s very commercialized and a lot of people are there not to backpack ariund the country. I decided to check out the office du tourisme.... they pointed me in the direction of the hostil i prescheduled to sleep at. Arriving at the hostile they were closed... bummer.

The dutch guy I met at the station mentioned a cheap private hotel and so I checked in there for about 5 times the amount of money since it was the last room left. No biggy. Bath and bathroom private for the first night sounds good to me.

Dropped off my backpack and took my camera to town to take some pics of the scenery.... lots of people with packs still arriving. Found a little grocery store. Check... will need that for breakfast and lunch ttomorrow and for the next two days since I ll be walking through the mountains and cant know for sure I will find another one anytime soon.

Pizza for dinner with a glas of red wine.

I feel lost and confused. I have a hard time speaking french ( it ll be funny when I get to spain, cause I dont even know a word of Spanish).... spending more euros than I planned and feel like the only one by himself right now. I know that ll change once I hit the trail tomorrow morning.

Found the medieval gate from the movie The Way. Took a bunch of pictures. Now just to find out how to move them to my tablet...



So far not a bad first day... it s gonna be interesting for sure, but I am excited to start tomorrow.... after a good night sleep.

Alarm set for 6am. And rwady to hit the sack now at 8pm....



C ya later

Advertisement



Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb