A Long Day of Travel


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Burgundy » Auxerre
May 30th 2012
Published: May 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

J'arrive!!J'arrive!!J'arrive!!

Gare du Nord greets a regular visitor
Having arrived in London the previous evening, I was able to start this trip with the minimum of fuss, arriving at the Eurostar terminal an hour before the train was due to leave.

Despite the queues, the positions in extremis once again proved the fastest route through security and passport control. Thus, five minutes after checking in, I was sitting on the far side watching my fellow travellers become more and more hassled.

The journey to Paris was uneventful - probably because I slept much of the way, waking just before our arrival. My neighbour, however, seemed to spend the entire trip sitting side-saddle and staring out of the window, afraid to miss something!

Heading through Gare du Nord, I headed straight to the RER where, without any planning, a train was waiting. Leaving immediately, two stops later, I arrived at Gare du Lyon, where I transferred to the Metro - one already in the station waiting!

And thus, I arrived at Bercy with over an hour to spare.

Once the train was called, I stamped my ticket and set off down the platform, boarding the train towards the front.

Again, a very uneventful journey, arriving in Auxerre some nine hours after leaving home.

Then came the difficult bit! The walk to the hotel wasn't the most picturesque but it was certainly the easiest route - along a major road! The view of the town, on reaching the river bridge was spectacular, although, by this time, my fingers were suffering from pulling a heavy suitcase over 1.5 miles, uphill!

Finally, I checked in at the hotel, taking a much needed shower before heading out to the Petit Guyon (hamlet) for tea.

If this restaurant's food is anything to go by, then I'll be putting on lots of weight as, with the meat, there were maybe a dozen types of vegetable!

No wonder I retired to bed, eagerly slipping into the arms of Morpheus!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb