Stop at Brest


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Brittany » Brest
June 28th 2013
Published: June 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

We left Falmouth and a Pigeon adopted us for the crossing, obviously too much effort to fly. Sam looked after it and fed and watered it, eventually when we were approaching Brittany and about 300 metres from land it flew off. It showed us its gratitude by leaving deposits everywhere that we are still cleaning up ! - Andy

Sam – My addition to the blog can be summed up in one word Bleeuurraaagh! I am the she beast from Alien, even when there is nothing left to throw up I manage to produce gallons of hot stomach acidy bile ------Whhhyyyy?? Nothing can prepare you for seasickness even though I have a boat stocked with remedies. The 3 things that make me feel even more sick are cigarette smoke, diesel fumes and black coffee all of which were thick in the air on this trip. Andy was sailing pretty much nonstop due to his wife losing the use of all 4 limbs he needed flasks of black coffee, since we had no wind we had to motor. My cabin is next to the engine and the exhaust so the smell and the noise was incredible. Andy ran into the cabin 3 times during the night to make sure I hadn’t passed out from carbon monoxide poisoning – luckily the ‘incredible’ noise and excruciating headache I had nurtured all day was keeping me fully alert.

Having to separate a pigeon from my cat Mavis helped to sober me up mind, all the pictures were taken over my shoulder as my head was leaning over the side and the other arm was gripping the cat. The pigeon refused a crumbled party ring but liked multiseeded flapjack; I don’t get how from this that it made bright green poop! When Andy said the pigeon flew off we had to launch it 3 times and Andy had to stand on the boat doing an impression of a mansized crow in an anorak.

On the 2nd day I noticed water coming up from under the flooring and a rhythmic sploshing noise, yep we were taking in water, yes we did have the French navy out to attempt to assist and yes bailing out a boat until 0330 in the morning really does help with seasickness and a mind excavating migraine. Definitely preferred my job to steering the boat in the dark looking for green and red flashing lights.



The weird waxy looking pods stuck to the sides of rocks again put me in mind of the film Alien, I imagined I would have to sleep with an apple in my mouth and my fingers in my ears so they can’t come and lay there evil spawn inside me. Actually, they are called Phallucea Mammalata and are a local anemone which really doesn’t make me feel any less uncomfortable or haunted.





We have been forced to stop at Brest due to a split in the exhaust. This meant that every time I used the engine water was being pumped into the boat by the engine. This is clearly not an ideal situation. We arrived at the Moulin Blanc Marina, Porte de Plaisance on Tuesday night and Wednesday morning I sought the help of a local repair firm to carry out the work that needed doing. I was amazed to hear that they would have to lift the boat out of the water to repair it and it would cost 1300 euros !! I ended up fixing it myself for 40 euros. Brest is lovely and it gave us the opportunity to visit Mcguigans Bar which is one of my favourite places and serves great Guinness. We will be leaving this morning to continue to La Caruna. Weather reports look good so it should be an enjoyable few days.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



28th June 2013
Sam and cats get sleep

Sam and Cats get sleep
Ahh, Manthe you look very sweet. Looks like you have gone brown really quick. Is it the cats skin or is it a sun tan!!!! Don't forget to use sun block. Thanks for ringing yesterday. Hope to talk on Skype when you reach Spain. Love you lots xxx
28th June 2013
I'm ready for the exhaust !

I'm ready for the exhaust
Looking good Andy, looks like something you might have worn in your old job! Take care of yourselves Love Deb
28th June 2013

Progress
Read your latest update. Sorry to hear of latest probs with exhust. Hope 40 euro repair works as well as 1300 euro one! Wish all our pigeons from the garden would follow walter and then our little birds would get something to eat. Hope seasickness becomes a thing of the past otherwise it could be a long trip!! Good luck on your next leg to Spain Love & Best Wishes Dad & Pat xx
1st July 2013

hewiie
Feel for u sam, the dreaded sickness that I suffer from. Had a great day with babbage sailing up the river lea on his house yesterday and I wasnt sick once! Good luck and enjoy. K
1st July 2013

Enjoying your journey so far you\\\'ve made me giggle sorry to hear about the woes with the boat chin ups and a few guinesses will help
1st July 2013

Dear Manthe and Andy, I hope that all is on the up now for both the boat and your sea stomach Manth. I am the same, cant look at a rocking boat or in fact be on one. Enjoy your stop overs. Didn't know you suffered from migraines, me too for over 30 years now. I wish you smooth sailing.

Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0892s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb