The Gorges du Verdon


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine » Moustier
April 30th 2006
Published: May 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well I had a busy weekend, rushing off to the Gorges du Verdon the day after my Van Gogh trip, but it's the last weekend, so what ya gonna do?

We first stopped off in Vinon to buy food for a picnic when we got to the charming village of Moustier. We went a little overboard perhaps and kind of bought a whole kilo of cheese-two varieties- and a whole rotisserie chicken. We dream big here in France. Besides the market, Vinon didn't really have much going for it. So I was glad when we left.

Moustier was really cool, set back against the mountainside, below this chapel and a chain with a star in the middle hung between two peaks of the mountain. It's a long story about why the chain is there, but you'll have to ask me if you want to know.

We climbed our way up and out of the village and had a feast on a bench we found. we actually managed to polish off the chicken and cheese between six girls and a full basket of strawberries too. It was the best picnic ever.

I climbed up to the chapel with Mollie and we looked back down on the village. It was quite a hike, but well worth it.

We next headed up to the entrance to the gorges du Verdon, France's Grand Canyon. There's a lake at the beginning of the canyon that is the awesomest green color. I wanted to dive in.

The actual Gorges weren't too impressive. What kept me interested was the negotiations of a full sized bus around these blind curves. My father would not have enjoyed it. The driver honked at each curve to let other people know we were coming. Luckily we didn't hit anyone and no one hit us. And I can't asked for more than that.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



15th March 2007

hi !
Hi ! I'm french and I know very well "the gorge of Verdon". I like your photos. Your blog is good. http://isis-aime-osiris.skyblog.com (thanks =)) ++

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb