Chugga chugga... chugga chuggaa Chooo choooo


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine » Bordeaux
January 30th 2010
Published: February 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

TRAINS TO SPAIN Day 10



Spent the whole day in transit to San Sebastian, Spain. Nantes to Bordeaux. Bordeaux to Hendaye. Hendaye to San Sebastian. Around both Nantes and Bordeaux were countless vineyards. For miles and miles there were vines. The landscape changed drastically between Bordeaux and Hendaye. It began with the vines then changed to lakes and then to almost marsh land and finally as you approached Hendaye it became very mountainous. I finally arrived at Hendaye and took a short local train to San Sebastian.

As I sat on the train it began pouring rain. And not just a little but loads. I got off the train in San Sebastian but because my train was late I got there after dark and after the tourist info centre closed, which meant no map to guide myself around and for people to direct me with. So I had to use my horrible Spanish stopping anyone who I saw to direct me to a hostel. Unfortunately, unlike the cities I had been to so far no one knew where a hostel would be only hotels. After walking up and down the beach for an hour someone finally pointed me to the library where the staff assisted me in locating a hostel on the internet. I took my bus number 16 up the hill to my hostel for the night. I have never been more relieved to find a bed. And it couldn’t have come at a better time because my small Spanish phrasebook was very wet and I was having a hard time peeling the pages apart. After being drenched in the rain for over an hour it was nice to get changed and get a map in my hand to plan my day for tomorrow. Jeeze language sucks. In the Netherlands people automatically spoke English, in Belgium I could get by enough on my French, same in France, but now I am at a loss for words… literally.

But I must say. Even with the rain pouring and the wind blowing it in my face San Sebastian is absolutely beautiful. It was a struggle to stop myself from taking my camera out in the rain. I can not wait until tomorrow when I can really enjoy the sights.






Advertisement



3rd February 2010

I should have given you some Spanish
...lessons! Sounds like your on a whirlwind here.....can't catch up... holy blogs....great, I love them. Enjoy Spain....one of my fav. Western European countries......are you heading south at all?....this way you can head into some "calor" heat! Make sure you go to Barcelona....and give it a kiss for me....Granada too,...if you can...oooh I'm soo jealous. Happy wandering. I saw your papi today, they found out about me working through my comment on your blog...isn't that funny!..... Hi neighbours Cathie and Kevin! Kylee and Kristie, too! Anyway, happy wandering! read from you soon. Hey, your so lucky you have this travel blog....it's going to make for a great scrapbook!!!....easy too! Take Care, Kath

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb