Wine Appellations and Aberration


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine » Bordeaux
July 16th 2005
Published: July 17th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Cabernet SauvignonCabernet SauvignonCabernet Sauvignon

The blood of Bordeaux is still a little green this time of year.
I discovered today that wine tours of the Bordeax region are rather popular. So much so that I couldn't get a tour of St. Emillion tomorrow. I did manage to get on the tour of Medoc region today. The coach ride provided some pleasant views of the region (vines as far as the eye can see sometimes), and the tour stopped at two wineries - Chateau Anez (Haut-Medoc appellation) and Chateau Labégorce (Margaux appellation). The wines were quite good, though a bit more full-bodied than I'm used to at over 60% Cabernet Sauvignon.

The tour showcased the pleasant aspect of Bordeaux wines. My desire to buy some highlighted the difficult and ugly aspects. First of all, the wine stores in Bordeax (the city) charge premium markups. I know, because I had comparative vineyard pricing for two of the Chateauxs. The two that the tour visited were hardly the best in the region, and I obviously wanted more choice. More importantly, the Medoc region is classified for red wine only. The sweet whites, dry whites and rose's are all grown in other regions. Hence, I find myself in a similar predicament to my time in the Chianti region back in Italy.
Chateau LabégorceChateau LabégorceChateau Labégorce

An actual chateau, and a couple dozen hectars of the best vineyards in France. Wondering if the proprietor's lonely...


My final peeve is the politics and arrogance that goes hand-in-hand with this region. The most prestigious classification of "Cru" (cross) was assigned back in 1855. The modern, variable classification of "Cru Bourgeois" was assigned 1932. The old premier wineries of the region don't allow visitors, or if they do, charge exhorbitant rates for a tour, and even more extravagant rates for their wine. Take Chateau Margaux for example, classified Grand Cru, 1855 (the top classification). I have no doubt that the wine is excellent, but more than €160 for a bottle of the 1998 vintage? In case you were wondering, a less exhalted vintage (2000) costs a mere €20 less. I can get a bottle of the finest 40-year-old Champagne Cognac for not too much more than half that.

On a positive note, my luck with the local cuisine has continued to be delicious. Dinner tonight at L'Ombrière was right next to where I ate yesterday. With a €15 prix-fix menu, I had Mousse de Canard (duck), roast salmon and strawberry compote. They even threw in water and a new experience for free. The new experience was "Kir", and apertif that's a mix of white wine and
That's a Lotta FermentationThat's a Lotta FermentationThat's a Lotta Fermentation

Forget 99 bottles of beer and start on "999 oak barrels of wine"
cassis. Lets just say I'll have a bottle of both in my fridge the coming year.

Since the St. Emillion tour is booked solid tomorrow, I'm not sure what I'm going to do. I might just wander the town, as I yet to see Bordeaux's "main sights".

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb