More Strasbourg Media


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Alsace » Strasbourg
December 25th 2008
Published: December 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Poor Santa 59 secs
2: A cool street 30 secs
3: Skating (a special video for Andy) 51 secs
Holiday update!

So....
We had Christmas eve dinner at a restaurant along the river here and it was very cute, however, Lauren and I ordered turkey and we swear that it was a cheat breast of chicken grilled and incredibly overpriced. The best parts included a visit from a pitiful looking Santa Clause played by a waiter who gave me a notepad and pen as a present and also talking with the French family right next to us who had the most precious little 3 year old, whom we got a picture with. Afterwards, we walked around for a while and then headed to the midnight mass service at the big cathedral here. It was totally packed, luckily we got seats in the center, though I was seated behind a large older woman with the world's biggest hairdo ever. The service took around two hours, but it was worth it because there was an orchestra and a choir that featured a quartet of professional opera singers. The service was also neat because it was part German and part French, though the arch-bishop was French and gave his sermon in French. Once church was over, Lauren and I headed back to the hotel, we were pooped.

Christmas morning got a later start than my former ones; we slept in until around lunch time and then headed out and ate at a little Turkish eatery place. We then headed towards the square around the cathedral, surprised to find that there were stores and part of the Christmas market open. I bought myself some hot wine and a goufre (a waffle) with Nutella. THen Lauren and I did some ice skating on the public rink outside. It was rather funny, Lauren has ice skated maybe once in her life and never let go of the wall, all the while little European children falling around her while playing tag. After ice skating, we headed back to the hotel to shower and change into some nicer clothing. We then went on to a free Christmas concert held at the big Protestant cathedral here, and were pleasantly surprised to learn that it was an American gospel/jazz singer and her blind accordionist. She sang some awesome randitions classic American Christmas songs and I honestly could have mistaken her for Whitney Houston, had I not known who was singing. Afterwards, we killed some time taking pictures in the cathedral, before heading to our fancy Christmas dinner. Our meal included being sat next to an annoying American family, very reminiscent of the family from Home Alone, yet with a Southern flare. It also included, froie gras (nothing to yell about, didn't love it or hate it), wild boar with juniper berries and chestnuts, and shortbread with pistachio and raspberry sorbet and white chocolate, as well as some fabulous wine. Though the bill was bigger than the cost of one night at my hotel, it was worth it and we had a great time. After dinner we just headed back to the hotel and zonked out.

Today, Lauren and I ate at a little place near our hotel for lunch and then headed out to take a boat tour of the downtown island. It was very cozy and charming and I was happy to see the European institution campus ( as I'm sure you all well know that the European Union headquarters is here in Strasbourg). I didn't bother to take any pictures on the boat ride, I was just happy to see so much while warm and relaxed. After that we meandered around a while before just getting back to the hotel. I'm pretty tired from all the walking and sightseeing that we've done in the past few days, I think I owe myself a nap before dinner. Lauren is really wanting to eat traditional German sausage and sauerkraut and a beer, however we're finding that it's incredibly pricy here and not as easy to comeby. We'll find something tonight I'm sure....

I hope you enjoy the videos and pictures, I know I have a lot, but there's just so much I want to share!

love and miss everyone!
Cara


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Chic StreetChic Street
Chic Street

This is my favorite street. Oddly enough it's we're all the designer stores are...


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0644s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb