Rotex!


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Southwest Finland » Turku
September 10th 2007
Published: September 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today was busy, confusing and fun! It is testing week at school so everyone is supposed to arrive at 10:15 today and tomorrow. I woke up at 8am to get ready and they at 10am I realized I had two free periods at 10:15….dang. I could have slept another two hours! That’s ok though because I found time to write this!!! I went in at 11:45 and went straight to lunch with Saija, Maiju, Lotta, Aapo, and Hannah. I had one period of Math after that, then I came home again to get ready for my Rotex meeting in Turku! (Rotex are the Finnish students that have been on foreign exchange and have now returned! In our district Elina is our Rotex! She went to Australia!) I had a snack then rode my bike to the bus stop and caught the 110 to Turku. I txted this Australian guy named Daniel who is also in my district and he told me he was sitting outside Stockmann waiting for Eddy from Mexico. (note: the Australian exchange students have been here for 7 months because their school year is different then ours, so they arrived in January!) When I got to Turku I
Danie!Danie!Danie!

the Aussi! he makes me laugh!
went towards Stockmann and as I took my phone out to call Daniel and ask exactly where he was (considering I had never met him and had only seen a picture to know what he looks like) this guy sitting to my left smiled at me then jumped up and gave me a hug! We both started laughing and introducing ourselves and yeah…foreign exchange students basically rock! Eddy came and met us then and we all walked back outside to meet everyone else! We met a bunch of new Australians and some others from camp! Elina led us to the bowling alley next to the opera house and we all paid 2.30 euros for an hour of bowling! I was on the lane with Daniel, Jesse (she is also an Aussi), and Jonny Taiwan ( I don’t think Jonny is his real name but everyone calls him that!). We had a lot of fun sliding around on the wooden floors in our bowling shoes and dancing! When our time was up we all walked to Hesburger for dinner. Eric, Dorothee (both German exchange students) and I ate quickly then ran to the bus stop and took the bus to our
Eddy!Eddy!Eddy!

Edgardo from Mexico! He is living in Turku!
language class in Raisio! We were 5 min late but everyone was still settling in! We all sat together and learned some more basic finnish, like “I am from America!” Minä olen Amerikklainen! “I am sixteen years old.” Mä olen kuusitoista vuotta! When class ended Eric walked me back to the bus stop because it was dark and we made plans to meet sometime soon because he plays on the Naantali Football team (soccer) and they practice three times a week at the field next to my house! I was the only one on the bus the entire way to Naantali. When we arrived I got on my bike and rode home to sleep! Yay!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

EricEric
Eric

German! he lives pretty close in Raisio! Finnish Lessons together!
Dorethee!Dorethee!
Dorethee!

German! She is living in a town kind of close to me and we take Finnish lessons together in Raisio!
Danie! Danie!
Danie!

"she's not sitting right where i was" wtf? "stephie where are you???" haha
Feet!Feet!
Feet!

Eric, Dorethee, Me! BOWLING!
ElinaElina
Elina

District 1410 Rotex!!! yay!
Jonny TiawanJonny Tiawan
Jonny Tiawan

haha wish i knew his real name!
aww eddy!aww eddy!
aww eddy!

eddy's first step into Hesburger!


Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 61; dbt: 0.07s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb