Sat 02/14/09 (Day 14) - Friends Day


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Pirkanmaa » Tampere
February 14th 2009
Published: March 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

FinlaysonFinlaysonFinlayson

Walking to Finlayson.
Alright, I finally threw in the breakfast towel… I NEEDED an American breakfast. I just couldn't hang with the soupy eggs anymore. A friend had advised me that there's an American Diner with supposedly authentic bacon n' eggs breakfast so I tried it out. I can't say it was totally authentic, but it definitely helped. Three

The American Diner is located in an area of Tampere called Finlayson. Finlayson is an old cotton mill turned into something like a mall. There's a movie theater there, several restaurants and some shopping. There's also a Vakoilumuseo (spy museum), advertised as the first spy museum in the world. So for 7 euro I took a gander; it's small, but very interesting. Actually very similar to the one in DC, just smaller and without all the high-tech displays. It's interesting to see another country's take on espionage and what happened during past wars.

After the museum I just explored the area and did a lot of walking to work off my big breakfast. I killed a little time at the hotel and before long it was dinner time. I tried an Irish Pub called O'Connell's. I ordered the special, a pint of Guiness
Blues BrosBlues BrosBlues Bros

Jake & Elwood apparently needed some real eggs too.
and a sausage basket, and grabbed a seat on a comfy couch in the corner. Also sitting back there were Tiia and Paulina, two friendly and talkative Finnish girls who were in Tampere for the day to do some shopping. Tiia had lived in Ireland a few years so was a saavy Guiness drinker with a cute Irish accent when she spoke English. They were excellent company and I appreciate the company. Later they invited me to join them in meeting some of their friends at another bar. Their friends were nice, and it's always fun meeting new people. I did meet a crazy, drunk Finnish guy there that stole my drink, but after some discussion and a bouncer's help he left... Still thinking that the drink was his. All in all it was a fun night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Spy MuseumSpy Museum
Spy Museum

Hidden away in a corner of the "mall"


Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0685s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb