I'm in Finland!!!


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Pirkanmaa » Karkku
August 6th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone! I meant to start this blog before I left, but I guess I procrastinated a little too much. So, now I'm in Finland! The plane rides were very long. I flew from Detroit to Amsterdam which was almost 8 hours, and then I flew from Amsterdam to Helsinki which was about 3 hours. I got to Helsinki yesterday at about 5:00 PM and I was incredibly jetlagged. They took us all on a bus from the airport in Helsinki to the language camp in Karkku where I am now. I've been meeting alot of cool people here. Most of the people here are from the U.S., Canada, or Mexico. Although I did meet someone from Italy and a girl from Germany. The girl from Germany, I think her name is Christine, is also living in Vaasa. It'll be nice having another exchange student living in my town.
I will be here in Karkku until Saturday when my host family will come to pick me up. On Wednesday we are all going to Tampere which is a fairly large city near here. Other than that I will mostly just be here in Karkku learning Swedish, since that's what my school speaks. Tonight I will try the sauna for the first time. I'm not sure how that's going to be, but I'll let you know next time I update. I hope you all are doing well. Please keep reading. I know this entry wasn't very interesting, but there is not much to say yet.

Advertisement



6th August 2007

Yeah!
Kenz, Glad you got there and that all is well! Have a great time! Miss you lots already! Love, Aunt Sue
6th August 2007

Yay!
Glad you got there safely! I miss you tons! LYFS :-D
9th August 2007

Fantastic!
Fun to read your blog, Mackenzie...I'm looking up all the cities you mentioned right now. Maybe you can teach us some Finnish as you learn? I look forward to more blogs!!
17th August 2007

Get to blogging
Too busy for the common folk back home?
28th August 2007

Hi
I print off your blogs for Gramps and he gets a big hoot out of your adventures. It's sounds like your making some real cool friends. Love Ya and keep having a great time. Keep those blogs coming.

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb