Relaxed and relieved in Copenhagen (Airport)


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark
October 19th 2016
Published: October 19th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Butterflies are strange things. They are perfectly happy to enter the stomach when one's feet are firmly planted on the ground. In the uncertain states inbetween, take-offs and landings, jaegerbombs are being distributed amongst partying rhopalocera as they prepare for the perceived end of the world. But for as long as that clumsy, winged machine remain above the clouds and is bathed in sunlight, the fluttering little bastards go to sleep.

I haven't been outside Scandinavia in years. With my usual keen sense of moderation, I'm once again headed to the other side of the world. Japan. Nihon. Jap- oh, wait, it's the same in Swedish. I've made no mistakes so far, apart from listening to Free Bird on the flight between Stockholm and Copenhagen and 10 seconds into the song remembering the fate of those particular rock gods. They played from the very same, outdated iPod that I bought at Yodobashi Camera years ago.

My stay at Kastrup may be short, but the Danes have already excelled in two important matters: The toilets are spacious enough for a Great Dane (go figure) and they serve beer in 0,75 litre glasses. Kastrup: Probably the best airport in the world. Yes, I'm aware that one was a bit easy. When in Denmark, take advantage of the fact that you're in Denmark. Words to live by, and also very applicable to Japan. Oh, the amount of gaijin stupidity I'm going the get away with...

Next up is a long flight to Narita, then shinkansen to Osaka, where a tall, blonde, IKEA-indoctrinated friend is awaiting my spectacular-...ly tired arrival. I shall revive myself with disgusting, rainbow Boss "coffee" and hope it lasts until nightfall. My tribute of peanuts, tobacco and chocolate shall undoubtedly earn me lodging at the fine (ha!) establishment where he resides. Or I'll just hold the two fantasy novels I bought him hostage, until the time of my inevitable victory. Huzzah!

There's a Japanese guy next to me at the Kastrup O'Leary's. It's hard not to smile when you hear that unmistakeable accent after so long. Ha! As if I tried.

And now I'm gonna finish my beer, then make use of the glorious bathroom stalls once again.I wish I could say that I wanted to stay longer, but in Japan you can go to the bathroom in the underground. For free! Take that, lousy, Swedish, pay-me-5SEK public toilets that may or may not be flooded!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb