The Cosy Travels of the Viking and his Kitten: Langeland


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark
June 14th 2011
Published: June 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

To the south of Funen are 2 islands: the smallest one is called Tasinge, the other one is Langeland. We will talk about the first island in another article and concentrate for the time being on Langeland. I have visited it a couple of times, but during my last trip I had one specific goal: to see the Wild Horses of the south of Langeland.

On my way to my destination, I had a stop in a small town in the centre of Langeland, called Tranaker. It has a beautiful castle, which is unfortunately not open to the public, but you can visit the park around it. Here you can find - or better: look for - about 20 sculptures, but the entrance is not free. You have about 25 Danish Kroner, they don't accept euro or credit cards. And since I didn't have enough Kroner with me, I will have to visit the park another time.

Some of the most beautiful beaches in Langeland are to be found in the southwest, near a village called Ristinge. It also has a very small harbour, where you can have a pick-nick. Which I did before heading off to the south of Langeland.

Here you can find a big nature park, called Wild Horses. You have to be a bit lucky to spot them, but the second time I was there I had the opportunity to see and photograph them. They are actually Exmoor ponies who were introduced to this spot in 2003 and are slowly but surely becoming a tourist attraction. In total there are about 40 horses roaming around!

Here you can find some pictures: http://s906.photobucket.com/albums/ac269 /thewhitetubbie/Syd%!L(MISSING)angeland%!-(MISSING)%!W(MISSING)ild%!H(MISSING)orses/

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb