Villys House


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Sjælland
June 22nd 2009
Published: July 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The familyThe familyThe family

Part of the Danish family anyway
Early to work no rest for the wicked. Back at er again. One day off thats enough. All ya need really. Ha. Tough getting up even for Benny today. He says to me I need a vacation. haha. We had to pack the van up again and get ready for this week last night so we were prepared. Made the lunch again and Benny had the coffee going. We were a couple mins behind schedule when we finally left. Got there and no worries Neils was still sitting in the van. But we started pretty much when we got there. Back on the roof to finsh up the sidding, from the existing sidding on the outside wall. Jacob wasnt there today. He was helping on another job putting in a stairwell or something. It went well it was a pretty chill day all in all. Tonight was a big night actually for us. We were going to Villys place about an hour away from Dalmose in the north of Sjeland. This is Bennies oldest living brother and my oldest great Uncle as well. He lived out in the country because he was horse crazy and wanted the land to take care of them and raise new foals.
After work we couldnt wait around much we had to be ready to go around 6. I had plans to stop off and collect my 200 krones from the store I bought the computer from in Slagelse. Got home jumped in the shower and dressed up a bit. It was still really nice outside so kept the shorts on. Got in the car and brought the laptop with me to write a bit and try and catch up. I was something like 15 days behind and this was the time I was gonna be the most relaxed or supposed to be. Didnt get a whole lot written. I had the window down and it sounded like we had a flat spot or even worse a flat tire. Benny stopped the car and checked out the tires nothing wrong. I did up the window and the noise went away. Problem solved. Ha ha. I forgot to mention that Benny actually dressed up too. He did his hair and everything. I was shocked. Svetlana dressed up as well, and I told her she looked really nice to make her smile.
Got to the store and Svetlana waited in the car and Benny and I ran in. Went to information and gave them my reciept. They gave me the cash back and I asked about filling in the rest of my tax free reciept. I filled out most of it already but I never had my passport on me so I had to leave that blank. I could have cashed in on a few more tax free dollars but it wasnt worth the trouble of coming back again. Took awhile though. The lady couldnt get the damn printer to work. SHe must have tried 20 times. I tried for awhile and somehow figured it out and reset it with this button. Benny bought flowers for the hosts, they had just recently sent Benny and Svetlana an invitation to their wedding on July the 11th. So this was pretty big news.
Svetlana was choked we took so long having to sit in the car!!!
Got to Villys around 710 and they had just began preparing the meal. Perfect timing. We showed up in the driveway and were warmly greeted by two twin black labs. Very nice dogs. They jumped all over you and also on top of the
Benny did his hair evenBenny did his hair evenBenny did his hair even

Preparing the Deer mmmmmm
other dog below. Ha Seemed like they wanted to actually jump up on you. Got inside after a few mins of being bombarded. Greeted Villy and Rebecca. Villy was busy with his knife picking at his prize deer round. Trimming all the fat off there were flies landing on it which was kind of odd to me but it was the country. You cant really avoid them. He told me he shot this one, and seemed really proud. We started chatting about the last time I was there to see him at his ranch. He asked about the family and everyone back home. He said usually he is the quiet one who doesnt say a lot because his English isn't that good. I dont have any Danish really so thats more than I can say!! Rebecca brought me a beer which said Cider an I drank it without saying anything. I chatted with Villy for awhile more while the others were out on the deck chatting. Villy had a lot to deal with since I had seen him last. His wife had died. His house burnt down. And he sold his ranch to move out here. Now he tells me his plans is to sell this place and move in with Kenneth back in Dalmose. sid that he thought it would be a great way to save some money and get to be back near his kids rather than so far away. Seemed kinda crazy to leave a nice place like this to live in his kids barn, which they would turn into an apartment.
Went outside and Svetlana says to me. Rebecca called this beer and its not. Ha she said in her defense that its stronger than beer so! It was very good so it didnt matter. It was pear and pretty tasty. Pretty funny though. Lovely backyard. All the flowers were in bloom and it looked like a mini Butchart gardens. We started barbequing the meat and I had to take a picture to remember this, I always hate making people get together for a picture. Its kinda lame but its nice to have the picture later on and look back on it. Svetlana made me get in the picture for a second one. Nice the dog even got in the first picture.
The deer was perfect. He did it on a charcoal bbq and ive never had much luck with those but man he knew what he was doing.THere was a lovely cheese covered potatto casserole and salad. I ate tons. Definetly the last one eating. Ha had a bit of cider and some wine.
After dinner we went on a tour of the farm. Really nice stable but the house where the do all the work with the horses, whatever they do with hoofing or whatever. They had a beautiful stallion that I met which was their pride and joy. THe money maker horse who made them money! Then there was a very cute mare and foal who came trotting up to say hi. People who didnt have space at their own homes paid a rental fee to Villy and Rebecca,to keep them healthy and feed them and everything. They had something like 8 horses on the property including 4 foals. One of the foals was not a very fast learner and kept zapping himself on the wire the poor horse!! We kept walking through the long grass path towards another field. Not sure what he was doing with this but there was a big hill. Benny said its the ski hill so I got
Tour of the PropertyTour of the PropertyTour of the Property

Huge hunk of property
a picture of him being a goof!!
Villy was asking me if I knew of a type of deer with huge spiraling horns. Not really. Turns out he meant a red deer. We dont have any of those in Canada thought so im not sure why he brought it up. He is a hunter and likes to kill things. Got back to the house and had some instant coffee and a nightcapper of Southern Comfort.Svetlana took a huge glass of it and mixed it with coke. I dont think she meant to take that much and everyone was laughing. SHe got pissed from it!!!! Drive home was quie. Bed time came soon after. Night night


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

White flowersWhite flowers
White flowers

Svetlana made an amazing drink out of this stuff
Mountains of DenmarkMountains of Denmark
Mountains of Denmark

haha Benny is quite the funny guy


Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0667s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb