It a few days since I have updated by blog so slacking a bit here


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Hillerød
June 15th 2022
Published: June 15th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Well day 2 and 3 of being in Europe was firstly in the fantastic site in the Netherlands that I spoke about last time and now we are in Germany. Mind you it appears from the site we were in first we could have walked into Germany which would have been an experience that we could say we walked from the Netherlands to Germany, ha ha it sounds good and do not have to say it was less than a mile.



So we follow the Sat Nav which you all know Mike loves and guess what less than 3 miles in and there is a road block and you guessed it the Sat Nav did not pick it up and wanted to take us around in circles. So guess what the trusty map came back with of course yours truly navigating us.



We have arrived at the new site and it’s not half as nice as our first site. We had to give a deposit for the card to use the toilet and this time we have not got our own - what do they not know who I am (miss princess). So I go for a shower and realise I have forgotten the key card. So back for the key card. So after the shower which you had to keep pressing the button for the water to come out - this did not happen in the Netherlands I am saying to myself. Then went back again to dry my hair as they did not have a hairdryer there but they did to be honest have a plug - you guessed it this time I take the card but forget the adapter so by this time I feel like I have done my 10,000 steps - not quite but everyone loves a good story even if it is an exaggeration.



Last night was a nice night with a few beers or wines and an early night was had by all. So up early and you guessed it I decided to get the map out to find out where we are going on Sunday. We have to cross into Denmark and we are going to use the ferry to get in and when we leave I would really like to use the bridge back over - well that is my thought at this minute.



We walked from the site to the lake and into town or nearly into town. The site we are on is massive and it seems to have caravans that are not static ones but are situated on long term pitches and some of them look like they come from an American trailer park.



So next day and we are now off to Denmark and we have to get the ferry from Puttgarden to Rodby and then it appears to be a straight line to Frederiksvaerk which is where we are staying for one night. We nearly missed the campsite as it said it was a hostel site. Yes it is a hostel site to be honest but for one night not too bad.



We went for a walk around the campsite and I nearly got eaten by a dog which was a bit of a shock as this massive dog came bounding at me at full pelt but luckily the owner shouted it back just before it bare its teeth and took a big chunk out of my leg!



So we went into Frederiksvaerk town centre and it is a really pretty place with a canal running through. I must admit I did not expect to see a gondola as I think we are a fair way from Venice!!!!



So up early and we need to find a supermarket as I do not think I can cobble another meal today if I am honest. We are moving on this morning to meet up with 39 other Carthago motor home owners so this should be different with so many owners in one place. It appears we are also near a train station that can take us into Copenhagen. The last time I was in Copenhagen was when I was a kid with my brothers and sisters and all I remember was the Tivoli gardens and the little mermaid - so memories will probably flood back - mind you I cannot remember what I did yesterday so not sure this is really going to happen.



Well we got to Hillerod campsite in approximately 1/2 hour and it looked like the site had been taken over by Carthago motorhomes - there are so many of them and we arrived early. Well what a site it is, so clean and has everything you would ever need including a full kitchen, yes a full kitchen with cookers and everything - it looks like a kitchen where you go to learn some cooking skills - amazing. In the evening we had a dinner put on for us which was typically Danish and really nice. It was great catching up with Liz in person and not on facebook. Liz and Mike look really well and are still loving their Malibu.



The next day we went on a vintage train to Helsingor which was a bit different as it was a single track and you had to wait in stations for the next train to get to the station before you could go on your journey. Helsingor is once again a quaint little town with you guessed it a castle. Helsingor is where you can catch the ferry to Sweden - we are not going to do this on this trip as we would like to explore more of Denmark - maybe when we return we can spend time in Sweden.



In the evening we had a band come and play for us - which was sweet but if I am totally honest not really my cup of tea but really nice of the campsite to put this on for us. The owners do not seem to be able to enough for us.



We are going to Hillerod castle today and take a trip on a boat around the lake so that should be a good one.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb