Putting the study in Study Abroad


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Birkerød
November 16th 2009
Published: November 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

KvindemuseetKvindemuseetKvindemuseet

At the Women Museum in Aarhus.
EDUCATION For the majority of the semester, it seemed like I was just "abroad" without much "studying," which was fine by me, but now all of a sudden all my final projects are creeping up on me and I actually have to DO WORK. Which is part of why I haven't found time to update lately. My paper topics include
• the United States' military and nuclear history as it pertains to Greenland and the Inuit
Einar Wegener's female identity and how it influenced the art of Gerda Wegener
• the development of the right to asylum in the European Union, specifically within the ever-more-conservative Danish context
• the murder of Dr. George Tiller within the context of Søren Kierkegaard's Fear and Trembling

HEALTH CARE Once upon a time, a young woman woke up. Later that day, her neck started to hurt, as did her upper right arm. By the end of the day she couldn't turn her head. She ingested some Ibuprofen and tried to sleep it off. But when she woke up the next day, it was worse than before. At 0805 her uncle called the doctor, who then spoke to the young woman on the phone. He
SkagenSkagenSkagen

The beach outside our flat.
offered to make an appointment at 0945, or just prescribe some medication if she thought a meeting was unnecessary. The young woman was significantly uncomfortable and incapacitated, and she was curious about just how evil the health care system in the country was, so she decided to visit the doctor. She arrived on time and met with the doctor not five minutes later. The kind doctor diagnosed it as a torn muscle that had contracted because of the blood, and she prescribed a muscle relaxer and some pain killers. The young woman thanked the doctor and left at 1005 without paying. She went to the pharmacy downstairs and had her prescription filled, no charge. She felt relief immediately after taking the medicine, and is eternally grateful for universal health care. Because it's not scary. It's a good thing.

SHEZONE Unlike the Danish students, who are actually paid to go to university, I have to pay my own way and prove that I am worthy of the little bones my school and state throw me in the form of scholarship. My scholarship at UC requires 30 hours of community service each year, even when abroad. I found a program that
GrenenGrenenGrenen

The very tip of Denmark where two oceans come together.
I actually wanted to get involved with. So I volunteer with SheZone. Stop me if you've heard this one before: I volunteer as an assistant swim teacher, so I swim around with the women and girls and help them in the water while the instructor instructs. It's beautiful. This past Saturday was the Ta' Rummet festival. I got one t-shirt, two pins, two and a half service hours, and a good time out of it.

FIRE It often happens that I get bored, and then I have to entertain myself. Sometimes I knit a hat, sometimes I make a hacky-sack, and now I sometimes spin poi. Ever since I saw my good friend Lilia spin fire poi, I've thought it would be awesome to learn. And now, instead of just thinking about it, I'm finally doing something about it. I met a nice Dane who lets me spin his poi, be they sock, LED, or fire. Yes, fire. It brings me back to my days of glass-blowing, all hot and dangerous and exciting and creative. I made sock poi a couple weeks ago, and this morning I just upgraded from old white crew socks to sexy striped knee socks. Hotttt.
Skagen's yellow and redSkagen's yellow and redSkagen's yellow and red

In Gammel Skagen (Old Skagen) the houses have to be yellow with red tile roofs and white trim by law. It's charming in a legally binding way.
Anyway, it's my new fun hobby and it will make me more flexible and dexterous, which has always been something for which I strive. Someday I'll be this good. Don't worry, Mom and Dad - I'll be careful.

VACATION Even though Thanksgiving is not a holiday in Denmark, my school program celebrates it...bu canceling class! I still have my Danish class though - not! That was canceled too, but only because my teacher is sick. It seems like everyone is sick. The H1N1 epidemic officially hit Denmark last week. Between one-third and one-half of the kids in my cousins' school have been sick. Currently no one in my house is sick, which is wonderful since we are having Thanksgiving dinner tomorrow! My families and my friend Lauren are all getting together for eats. Of course we're having mashed potatoes, green bean casserole, pumpkin pie, and cranberry sauce; however, no one likes turkey. That's just a fact. So instead the carnivores will eat duck. It's still a bird, so I think the Pilgrims will get over it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.266s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb