Learning Czech


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic
July 10th 2007
Published: July 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Czech has a reputation as a difficult language to learn and it is well deserved. It is on of the most highly inflectional languages you can get, especially nominally and to some extent verbally. But that's a problem you won't even get to tackle if you can't get your head around the pronunciation. I still can't say three (tři) or four (čtyři)!

I am struggling to find information for my level of study, mainly because of the poverty of information on the language available on the internet. The previous two languages I studied were French and Japanese, on which you can find billions of pages and dozens of great podcasts. The same goes for the other major world languages such as Spanish, Russian, Chinese, Arabic and Portuguese.

So far all I have found on Czech are a few barely maintained pages and a course of Pimsleur's Essential Czech which I...er...acquired legally of course. I can find books but these are no good when one of my main problems is pronunciation!

If anybody could help me out I would be grateful. I love languages, but I'm really struggling here and terrified how I'm going to cope in Prague...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb