Sandstone Rocks of Labe


Advertisement
Published: May 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We had planned a change of pace with some walking and boating in an area of sandstone gorges called the Sandstone Rocks of Labe. We were a bit slow away in the morning and travelling on tiny roads - it’s a bit nerve wracking for both of us. I am trying to fit past an oncoming car who is travelling at 60 or 70km/hr and Alison is telling me to move left!!!. I have a mirror which gives me a good view of the side of the van and the road, and at times the tyres are just on the road. I am getting a better sense of the width of the van but still travel much slower than the Czechs - both cars and trucks - on these roads. We arrived at our starting point which was a little village tucked alongside a stream at the base of a steep sided valley. There were cars and people everywhere. All of the car parking was full to overflowing. In the end we gave up and drove further through the area, where it became a little less pressured. I managed to get away for a walk - down a walking track that was essentially a road - suitable for prams and wheelchairs. As I walked I passed a few groups of “trampers” carrying backpacks and tents - they would get a shock in NZ. I also passed a big group of German people - part of a Wanderer’s club, who struck up a conversation with me - thankfully mostly in English.
We moved on planning to have a look at some of the famous Bohemian Glass, but by the time we got to Novy Bor the museum etc was closing, the camp ground was closed as well so we changed plans again - intending to head to Harrachov about 80km away intending to look at glass there. We camped at Liberec - cold and a bit bleak. Right near the centre of the town is a large hill - with a tall television tower and a wide steep ski run - looks impressive.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 59; dbt: 0.1225s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb