Day 34 in Europe - Brno, Czech Republic


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » South Moravian Region » Brno
January 15th 2013
Published: January 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hey Hey Hey and Things and Stuff! Day 34 in Europe - Brno, Czech Republic - Jan 15th, 2013:

So I have been staying in this little town called Brno located in the Czech Republic for a few days now, staying with an Awesome friend from High School Nick Bunzli, who lives here and was nice enough to let me crash at his Flat with him for a week and a half. After running around Europe for 19 Hours a Day and getting into a new Country every 3/4 Days for over a Month, I thought it would be a nice change of pace to just relax, hangout and live like a local here and stay in one place for awhile. It is cool to just relax, and experience a new country in a slow relaxed pace. Because of this, I've been kind of lazy the past few days, with yesterday being the very first day in 33 Days where I didn't really do anything! It was Strange!

Anywho, Today I was back to my old self, and walked around Brno for the whole day in the Snow, it was Awesome! Nick works from 9 to 6 every weekday, so while he's at work I just roam around the city, eat really cool looking food, then meet back with him when he gets off and then go on Nighttime Adventures. Pretty much every day this week we have plans to meet up with Czech Friends he's met here, and hangout at local Pubs, his Flat, stuff like that.

In the morning while I was uploading some Amazing Photos that you will all see soon, I liked the Goulash I at a couple days ago so much, I bout some Salami, Sausage, Goulash Mix and other things to make myself, and I did and it tasted pretty good! I then ventured out to town with no destination and just took a ton of Artistic-like photos of the snow. It was fun to just walk around in it and just get lost across cool looking buildings and Parks.

I then stumbled upon a cool looking courtyard area and decided it looked like a cool Point-of-Interest to go check out. I discovered that it was actually the place where Gregor Mendel did all of his scientific experiments! Mendel was the guy who founded Genetics! He was the first person ever to breed plants and find out about how Genetically the offspring plant will inherit the parents dominant traits and the probability in getting them. For example, if a red flower and a white flower were breed, based on the dominant traits of each flower, he found the probability of the offspring to be red or white. This is exactly how the modern science of genetics works with humans with eye color, hair color, etc. So it was totally cool to randomly stumble there! They made his place of experiments into a museum, and I went it. Since everything is super cheap here, it was only 60 Koruna to get in (about 3US Dollars) and checked it out. It was cool and my favorite thing on display was his, and I quote, "Swagger Stick with an Ivory Handel!" Lol. He literally had a walking stick with an ivory handle that he walked with, and it was called a Swagger Stick! Lol. You weren't allowed to take pictures, but since I'm Chris Johnstone, I once again was able to sneak in a couple.

I then walked around more, stopped to eat some cool pastry type food for about a quarter, grabbed some coffee to warm up, and continued my walk to this Castle looking thing of Awesomeness. I go in and it is somewhat famous Church where you can pay 35 Koruna (about a Dollar Fiftey), to go up this huge spiraling staircase and go to the huge Bells and there was this sweet view at the very top, where you open this really old sketchy looking door, then all of a sudden you were on this very small ledge and could over look all of Brno, it was pretty cool!

After walking around and seeing some other cool views, I decide to head back since I needed up meet up with Nick because we were meeting up with one of his Czech friends at a Pub. Well long story short, I got super lost, taking about 2 hours to find Nick's Flat when it should have taken me 20 minutes, lol. Never the less it was cool walking around to see more sites along the way. I think just walking around and interacting with people is the best way to know a new place. I was able to find my way back right before we had to leave, so it worked out.

We then hungout at this cool new Pub that the girl we were hangout out with introduced us to and it was nice. I drank a Ton for hours and it only costed me 160 Koruna, about 8US Dollars! I love this Place! We then headed back, hungout at the Flat for a bit and then called it a night. Tomorrow after I walk around the town some more, we are going to meet up with a couple other girls and hangout at a nice Wine Bar, should be cool!

I really like the Czech Republic, and it is cool to go at a slow pace and just sit back and enjoy a town for an extended period of time, with no sites or monuments to have to see. Just kicking back and enjoying a new Country in a small town from a Local's point of view.

Cheers from Brno!

-Chris


Additional photos below
Photos: 45, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.336s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.065s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb