Day 31 in Europe - Brno, Czech Republic


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » South Moravian Region » Brno
January 12th 2013
Published: January 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Finaly Snow! Day 31 - Brno, Czech Republic - Jan 12th 2013

I'm beggining the last leg of my Trip! I've been gone for a full month now but it seems like years, which is totally cool. Time alwasy seems to go by fast when you're having fun and I always wished it would go by slower for the fun times, and this is the first time I can remember that I'm having the time of my life and time is moving slow. It's a pretty Amazing feelilng to finally have.

After waking up in the Prague Airport during a sleep from Midnight to 5am, I get some food at the only place that was open, and find the bus to take me to the Prague train station to head to Brno. I catch the 5:47am Bus and get off at the wrong stop since everthing is in Czech and it's hard to see which stop is which. After missing the next couple buses since they don't wait for you if you're not right in front of their door, I decided to take the Metro/Trolley and found my way to the Train Station. This is when I find out
The ImmigrantThe ImmigrantThe Immigrant

With Nick at his Favorite Pub the Immigrant! I love this Place!
how rediculously cheap the Czech Republic is compared to US Dollars!

The exchange rate is about 1 US Dollar buys somewhere around 20 Koruna, so something that costs 100 Koruna is around 5 US Dollars. Prague and Bruno are nearly at the opposite ends of the country, yet I was able to book a train for only around the equivelent of 12 US Dollars, which is dirt cheap! I then buy a coffee that is the equivelent of a quarter, and a sandwhich for around a dollar fiftey. I am definitely liking the pricing of the Czech Republic!

After I get off the train, I find a KFC to get free WiFi to message Nick Bunzli that I have arrived, as he is a friend from High School that I've hungout with off and and since then, and he momved here almost a year and half ago. He said I could totally crash at his place. So my plan is to enjoy ending Europe in a different fashion as that of which I begun, by staing in one place for about a week and a half and just keeping low, instead of my first half of travel where I would be in a new country every 3 days and constately doing something every single day for 19 hours a day. Now I will just kick back and enjoy a more slow paced experiance in one place, so kicking it with Nick for a week and a half will be Awesome!

After meeting up with him at the Train Station, it was totallly cool to see him half way around the world from where I saw him last, he is a totally Awesome Dude. He only lives about 10 minutes from the station, so we make it to his Flat in no time. His Flat is pretty Awesome and I get his fold-out couch to sleep at at night. There is snow everywhere and it is cool to finally see it in Europe! I thought there would be snow everywhere this whole trip, but it has actually been quite hot. For instance in Munich for Christmas, it was from what I heard, the Hottest Christmas on Record ever there, which was intense since I was expecting snow. This is also the first time I see snow and not be in the mountains, so it was pretty Awesome. It is expected to snow a few days this week, so I'm excited to walk around while it is snowing.

Nick shows me around and takes me to this really cool Cathedral Church thing that has a great view of Brno, and I take some cool snow Pictures of the area. Much like a lot of the other countries I've been in, it is totally legal to drink beer in public, so we go to a local grocery store, buy a half-litter of some cool Czech Beer for only 8 Koruna (which comes out to a very cheap 0.40 US Cents) and walk around drinking and checking out the town. It is somwhere in the high 20's to low 30's in Farenheight, so my hand got pretty cold holding the beer.

He then took me to his favorite local Bar, the Immigrant for a couple beers and a pretty Awesome Hamburger. This pub will prove to be one of my favorite places as well! He intruduces me too all the staff and even one of the owners as he know them all, and lives an almost How-I-Met-Your-Mother-Close to the Pub, literraly living almost next to it, which is pretty cool. Everyone who works there are super fun, outgoing and Awesome people, and I look forward to coming back and hanging out with them later.

After walking aroudn for a bit more and hanging out at his Flat, he then takes me to this Amazing Resturant/Pub to have some legit Czech food for dinner. There is pretty much no Tourists here in Brno, so everything is very Authentic and not Touristy what-so-ever. This is where I have one of my faovirte dishes I had in Europe, some pretty Awesome Goulash! It has beef, pork, sausage and some Amazing fried Potatoe things in a thick and hearty Soup that was simply Amazing. It was super fancy but yet only costed 119 Koruna, which comes out to only about 6 US Dollars!

We then head back to The Immagrint for an Amazing night! It is around 9 or 10pm, and we meet up with the employees we met earlier who are off and now drinking, and meet to employees that Nick knows. I end up meeting another one of the three owners and talk with him for quite awhile. He is a super cool dude and he even offered me Job at his Pub!!! It was a super fun night there, in at least Brno, there is no official time where the pubs closes, so they can stay up as long as they want to close as early as they'd like. After a few hours it was getting late and the Owner started buying all of us shots for the rest of the night! He would also let us go behind the bar and pour anything we'd like and it was all on the house! It was super fun meeting everyone and having Awesome conversations, one was about what I study and future carear plans and they didn't believe me, lol. I was talking to a really cool person who was the wife of one of Nick's friends and for the first time ever, I got one of those goodbyes where they kiss you on both your checks, it was pretty cool! Lol.

Anyway, long story short, we end up staying there till 4:30 in the morning, and tired from all the drinking, conversations and momentary dancing, we walk the extrememly short walk back to Nick's Flat and we pass out for the night. The very first night here in Brno and I've already met sooo many Awesome people and it has already been a lot of fun! Tomorrow will be Sunday, and will be mostely a recover day.

Greetings from the Czech Republic!

-Chris


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

The big black Clock.The big black Clock.
The big black Clock.

Yes, that thing is a Clock that tells time, lol.


Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb