Vino Sklep


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » South Moravian Region » Brno
April 24th 2008
Published: April 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sklep Sklep Sklep

Jamie, Kellie, and Me! (Photo taken by Kellie)
Question: What do you get when you let 30 students have unlimited wine for 4 hours?
Answer: One funny bus ride to the dormitory!

On Tuesday evening, I had the pleasure of sampling some wonderful Moravian wine at a traditional Vino Sklep (I hope that's right), which is a wine cellar. ISC organized a wine outing so that we could "get a taste" of the Czech Republic (as if we haven't drank our weight in Starobrno or Pilsner Urquell beer - KIDDING). We arrived around 6 pm and a guide led us in tasting 7 different wines, which included a variety of 4 whites and 3 reds. They were all really tasty; we had bits of bread and cheese between tastings and learned how wine is assessed based on its color, taste, smell, growing region, and fermentation methods. Our host was really funny and although he spoke in Czech, I am pretty sure he spoke English and some German pretty well. (Ladies and Gentleman, I think I have decided on a career path - I want to lead groups of people in guzzling wine!)

After the initial tastings, we were invited to be seated and have a lovely pepper-chicken
Sklep Sklep Sklep

A collection of fine wine... (Photo taken by Kellie)
meal and our choice of wine for our dinner. I thought I would be served a glass of wine. I was instead brought a pitcher of my choice of wine, as were each of the other 5 people at my table. Perhaps I forgot to mention that we had unlimited wine?! (It was a LOT of wine!)

Shortly after our meal, Breclavan dancers came and performed traditional Czech and Slovakian dances and musicians played instrumental music between the dances. We were able to get up and dance with them and to mingle with one another, which was great fun. An hour or so after dinner (and a lot more wine) we were given lovely cheese and meat platters to nibble on as we enjoyed our drinks and the company of each other. I purchased a few liters of wine because it was so cheap and tasty; it is a nice treat to share when I have dinner with my friends in the dormitory. (It is great to sit and chat and see my friends well fed and happy. It is such a full, warm feeling).

We must have been a ridiculous sight to see on the bus back
Sklep Sklep Sklep

Kellie and I with our wine-guru! (Photo taken by Kellie)
to the dorm, but I would say that it was a really enjoyable experience and something I would definitely recommend to other visitors or students! (The morning after was a lot less fun, but that's another story for another day... ;-)


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Sklep Sklep
Sklep

These were the "tasting" glasses after everyone was through. (Photo taken by Kellie)
Sklep Sklep
Sklep

My beautiful ladies! (Photo taken by Kellie)
Sklep Sklep
Sklep

Na Zdravi! (That's Czech for "Cheers") (Photo taken by Kellie)
Sklep Sklep
Sklep

Na Zdravi! (Photo taken by Kellie)
Sklep Sklep
Sklep

Dobrou Chut! (Czech for "Bon Apetite!) (Photo taken by Kellie)
Sklep Sklep
Sklep

My friend Ulrik and Me.
Sklep Sklep
Sklep

Thomas, Jeremy, and Me!
Sklep Sklep
Sklep

Breclavan Dancers! (Photo taken by Kellie)
Sklep Sklep
Sklep

Breclavan Dancers! (Photo taken by Kellie)
Sklep Sklep
Sklep

Breclavan Dancers! (Photo taken by Kellie)


Tot: 0.255s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0584s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb