Tour of Brno and Party for International Students


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » South Moravian Region » Brno
February 6th 2008
Published: February 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

On Tuesday, I went on a small tour of some of the highlights of Brno, the city in which I am located. We saw a lot of interesting things; I didn't think to start taking pictures until about half way through, though, so the cooler parts are not here. I am going to try to find those sights again. There are, however, still some interesting sights. One is the Cathedral of Saint Peter and Paul. I took pictures of its beautiful exterior. We climbed up a narrow staircase (up, up, up) until we got to the top and were able to look out two small balconies overlooking opposite sides of the city. I think the sight is quite pretty.

Here is what my guide-pamphlet has to say about the Cathedral: "Originally a Romanesque basilica built on the top of a hill know as Petrov, later rebuilt in the Gothic style. Its current neo_Gothic form dates back to the turn of the 19th and 20th century..."


After the tour, I had my first Czech language lesson. I learned a lot about their pronunciations and inflection, which helps a lot when I try to decipher words on the buildings and billboards.

Following the lesson, there was a large party for all of the international students. It was nice to meet and mingle with other students and enjoy local wine and foods. I went back to my dorm for a bit to rest, then attended a big party at one of the clubs (oh yes, the school owns several student clubs), again with the international students. I was pretty sleepy, so I didn't stay too


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Cathedral of St. Peter and Paul Cathedral of St. Peter and Paul
Cathedral of St. Peter and Paul

There is a legend that as long as the squires on the cathedral stand, Brno will stand. However, if they are destroyed, Brno will be as well.
View from the Top View from the Top
View from the Top

The city skyline
View from the Top View from the Top
View from the Top

Veveri Castle
The Bar The Bar
The Bar

I was sitting at a table directly across from the bar. It was fun to watch people come back forth in front of me.
Smile!Smile!
Smile!

This is me with another American girl, Roxanne.
More smilesMore smiles
More smiles

This is a picture of my friend Nikki (left), who is also American, and Kristen, who is from Canada.
People, PeoplePeople, People
People, People

There were lots of little alcoves within the club; this is one of them.
My Pint My Pint
My Pint

I just thought this (large) beer was kind of cute. It was only 20CZK, which is less than $1.50. Not bad for a club!
Czech Helper Czech Helper
Czech Helper

This is Jan (pronounced "yawn"). He is a Czech student and is instrumental in helping many of us.


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb