Rolling a white line


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
May 31st 2005
Published: June 2nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

I had to take some clothes to the dry cleaners today. It is much too warm to wear wool now, even on the cool days. The dry cleaners is not far away, but does require a bus ride, one stop, and then either a two hundred walk, or a one stop tram ride. I only had to wait about two minutes for the bus. As I crossed the street at the tram stop a tram arrived, so I rode it to the next stop. A tram was just pulling up when I walked from the dry cleaners to the street, so I hopped aboard. Nancy and I have late duty tonight which means no supper unless I either made a sandwich or bought one. Buying one seemed the easier of the two choices, especially as I had nothing in the room with which to make a sandwich. I rode the tram to Dejvice, bought two curry chicken sandwiches from Boulevard Crocodille's and returned to the seminary. As I got off the bus here in Jeneralka I saw that a white line was being painted, actually rolled, along the side of the street. What is so novel about a white line being painted you ask? After all the big $800,000 spray painting truck simply drives up and lays down the white line ... right? Wrong. Two men were painting the white line. They had drawn two strings to mark the edge of the white line and now one poured paint from a huge can, the second man then rolled the white paint betwee the strings. When his roller began to run out of paint the first man then poured more paint onto the roadway. They may not paint as much white line during a day as the big truck does, but they do not have an initial cost of hundreds of thousands of dollars either.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb