Prague


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
October 3rd 2011
Published: January 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

After Berlin it was on to Prague. Caught up with Tom from the tour and me him and his mate all we went to dinner at a traditional Czech place. I wanted to try a few local beers and they had a beer sampler with 8 half beers of different types. There were beers like ‘banana beer’ and ‘coffee beer’, but after some careful consideration there weren’t many winners, about 2 out of the 8. From there it was on to the ‘pour your own beer’ pub where there’s just 4 taps in the centre of the table and you literally pour your own beers and it tallies up the litres drank, and you pay by the litre at the end of the night. Top idea for a few beers, and a few riddles :-), a good warm up before heading the 5 floor nightclub. With a different genre of music on each floor it was pretty cool but also very touristy. Tom and Rob went home while I stayed and had a great night with this really nice German girl who was working on a cruise ship in Prague for the night.

The next day I couldn’t get a hold of Tom cos his phone was crap so I hit a free walking tour then went to check in to the next hostel for the start of my Fanatics tour. Now I really wasn’t keen on doing the tour thing again, because after Berlin I was kind of enjoying flying solo, but unfortunately if I wanted accommodation at Oktoberfest this late in the game, a tour was the only way to do it, so here I was. So I hit it off really well with all the people on tour straight away.

That night we were off to an absinthe bar, but a lot of the fun happened at the pub next door while we waited for everyone to get there. Drinking beers poured by the guy from Eurotrip (The Bratislava guy I swear it!!!), talking to some locals that we met out the front while they were smoking pot, just good fun. The absinthe bar was really cool, and they melted the sugar properly which was good. There was a bottle with a praying mantis in the bottle and I said to the bartender “How many shots are left in that bottle??” and had him pour them all out, putting a smiley face on the bottom of one glass. Big Dale got the smiley face and hooked into that bug like Bear Grylls ha ha ha. After that it was off to the 5 storey club again. I hung around for a bit but since I had already been there I went in search of a hidden club I had heard about. After a lot of searching I found the place but couldn’t work out how to get in, so yeah, epic fail!!The next day was another walking tour, which wasn’t bad cos it covered a lot that the previous tour didn’t, but the guide was pretty dull, it is really hard with local guides. Probably the highlight was the echo circle, you stand on this stone step and face the garden and when you talk you can hear it echo but no one else can hear it, and it only works on that spot, like it’s echoing inside your own head. Really cool :-).

Prague surprised me actually, it really is quite a pretty city and the architecture has changes so much it’s a real mismatch. But oh the tourists!! I couldn’t believe the number of tourists here. You expect it in Rome or Paris but I never expected it in Prague.

That night was back to th e’pour your own beers’ pub with the Fanatics where I actually had a feed this time (which I ordered from the beer machine on the table :-) )I got the pork knee which was practically a 2kg roast, awesome feed. Reasonably early one that night, Oktoberfest tomorrow!!!!! :-D

Keywords:

Who’s triangle is this??

Is 18 ok??

Next ot Roxy

Reeces pieces

Bullshit! The clock doesn’t move.

Losing the Lennon Wall

Waziristan

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb