Free day in Prague.


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
June 7th 2011
Published: July 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

I'm having a bit more of a relaxing day today, after yesterdays marathon walking effort. The weather is beautiful this time of year, maybe a little warm for some, but I'm loving it. Had a leisurely wander around the back streets that were missed yesterday.

Found a nice little bar where I sat for a few hours and had a couple of beer watching the passing trade and parade of numerous tourists. It's so easy to spot the tourist here, they are the ones walking around with one person in their group with their head bowed trying to read a map and work out where the hell they are. Put it down!! Look up! Look around! You can't get lost and if you do you can always stop for a beverage and consult a map!

Unfortunately, I'm having major problems with my new camera. Seems it is taking after it's new owner and only works when it wants to - which is not very often. Very frustrating! That's another reason for my extended breather. Perhaps I should easy up on the beer intake but experiencing Prague without experiencing the beer would be like going to Paris and not seein
a beer or sixa beer or sixa beer or six

hard to resist when a beer is less than 2 bucks
the Eiffel Tower. Just not on. And I am not one to drink alone, but as I look around me it seems the whole town is drinking so I do not feel alone. My story and I'm sticking to it!!!

One thing walking around the last few days I have noticed there are many, many museums here in Prague. Not that I visited even one, not my thing, but if you are thinking of visiting here there is actually more to do than sit around drinking beer. This is just the path I have taken. And besides I will probably be returning to this wonderful city with my sister Lyn who is an avid museum visitor - chuckle, chuckle. Not a all a beer drinker like me, chuckle, chuckle, chuckle. LMAO!!!

Finally managed to drag myself away from my bar stool and took off to see if my camera was up to a few shots this afternoon. Lucky is was, so I walked some more.

In my travels I found a place in a small arcade to have a manicure (yeah I know tough being a backpacker) which was staffed completely by Vietnamese men. Of course no
dinnerdinnerdinner

delicious cherries - but where's the pork?
one spoke English but it was pretty easy to get across what I wanted. Not a bad job of $11.

Heading back to the hostel I bought a punnet of cherries to have for dinner, felt I needed a break from pork and beer. Can't believe I just wrote that!! Anyway they were beautiful.




Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

street marketstreet market
street market

this market was on every day, selling fresh fruit and vege as well as souvenirs
Statue of a man (Sigmund Freud) hanging by his armStatue of a man (Sigmund Freud) hanging by his arm
Statue of a man (Sigmund Freud) hanging by his arm

another odd sculpture by David Cerny
hanging manhanging man
hanging man

if you didn't look up you would never even know this was here
on Charles Bridgeon Charles Bridge
on Charles Bridge

notice the guy begging in the red tshirt. all the beggars around Prague would take this stance, I watched this guy for about 30mins he did not move!
artistsartists
artists

artists and people selling arts and crafts on the bridge


3rd July 2011

WOW!!!
I am loving your blogs. They are informative and descriptive....I want to be there. I am so glad you are having a wonderful time. I look forward to reading your next adventure. Take care. Valmae
4th July 2011

Little Miss 'Nobody Loves Me'.
Oh dear, poor Cindy. No one is reading her blogs? Not!!! Raymond is, every word (tho I might have missed the second instalment). Strange tho, yesterday you were in Azrou being very politely politically non-political and today you're back in Prague. It's a bit like telling an Irishman in a round room to go stand in the corner. Never mind girl, am thoroughly enjoying your anecdotes. Way to go (the only way to go) - keep it up. Hugs & xx's, Raymond John.
4th July 2011

thanks Mr O'Shanassy!!
I feel loved now as I know you are reading my dribble. Yes it's a bit geographically challenged because I am still catching up but wanted to add a current thought it. I had 2 weeks in Czech and 1 week in Rome before I hit Morocco again!! Try to keep up - check the dates lol. Hey nice to hear from you anyway, are you one the move again soon?? or enjoying the Victorian winter?

Tot: 0.317s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.2839s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb