And the bug contines


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
March 8th 2005
Published: March 8th 2005
Edit Blog Post

“I think I’m getting sick,” Chris said when we saw him this morning. When we returned to our room after working in the library this evening Chris was in bed with a terrible headache and a temperature of almost 104. Unfortunately he was right this morning when he said, “I think I am getting sick.” Nurse Nancy is trying to take care of sick people on our hallway. I believe everyone on our hallway, except Nancy, either has been or is sick with flu. The real campus nurse says she knows exactly how Chris is feeling as that is exactly the state she was in last week.

The flu bug is laying this campus low. Classes, reviews for exams and examinations are all having to be rescheduled. No one has any idea where this bug came from, but everyone will be happy when it leaves.

The other day we went into the library and there was Doreen with the saddest looking face. I thought she was going to break down and start crying. I was SURE she was going to sit on the floor and cry. Her sorrow was just so easy to see and such a contrast to her almost constant smiling, happy countenance. She is a very beautiful young woman made even more lovely by her smile.

“I’ve lost my Bible with all my research papers in it,” she said. “Have you seen my Bible. I’m sure I left it in the reading room.”

Sadly, no one had seen her Bible. We asked questions like, “Where do you remember seeing it last?”

“Did you stop at someone’s room on the way back to your room.”

None of our questions sparked an AH-HA response. Finally she sadly left the library. “I don’t know what I can do without my research papers she said.”

At lunch I saw a much happier Doreen. Another student had accidentally picked up Doreen’s Bible and papers with a stack of books, had realized her mistake and taken the Bible and papers to Doreen. Oh happy day!!

I have pretty well completed the task of updating the Union List of Serials, or at least I think I have. I sent them as an attached file to Katarina for her review, telling her that I know the list is not perfect.

“It is never perfect,” she replied laughing.

I also sent her my suggestion on the library policy on periodicals. She asked me about two weeks ago to help her a policy statement about retention of periodical materials. There are scholarly journals, regular journals, newsletters, occassional magazines, etc. While there is a clear collection policy the other end of collection is retention.

Now that those two tasks are out of the way it is back to working with the books, entering them into the library software.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.6s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 20; qc: 162; dbt: 0.3177s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb