Two Months and counting


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
July 8th 2009
Published: July 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Two months officially. Wow doesnt feel like its been that long at all. This past month has FLOWn by. Especially in Denmark working away. That was probably the best experience for me so far. 15 Countries. Not bad at all. Woke up a bit early suprisingly fresh by the hordes of other people around. My train was due in at 640 so I had to make sure I was prepared for the worst like last time. Again no info on the board about Prague. OR Praha they call it. No one around either to ask about this. SO I went around and eventually found someone. The told me yes its track 2A but I had no idea where that was. The sign didnt say Praha on it when I did find it. Turns out it was joined to another train that was going to Budapest as well. God damn how was I supposed to knw that. It was pissing rain now. Had to run from cover to cover. Nice that I didnt have to sleep outside and wake up to this crap.
I almost got on the wrong train that was connected to the train I wanted. If you got on the wrong car you would go different places believe it or not. Finally I found a sign on the train that said PRAHA and I was on. Beauty. I talked to a couple people to make sure that this was going to Praha. Yep they all were I was in the right place. The train didnt get there untill like 8 at night so it was gonna be another longy. After awhile on my own I got to thinking about how long I plan on being gone and I got soooooooooo homesick all of a sudden. Thinking about the ocean and how everyone is having a great time back home. Especially thinking about the ferry to Mikeys cabin on Gossip island. I started having cold feet about this India idea and didnt really feel like I could make it a whole year on my own anymore. Well it lasted awhile and then I calmed down and realized that I was doing everything at my own pace and could go home anytime I wanted. Actually what would I even do when I got home. I didnt have a job to go back to untill March theoretically unless i went back early. It was all good my mood changed and my spirits were uplifted soon after.
I slept on the seats across them because no one else was on the train for awhile. After we hit Brataslavia everyone got one. Instantly I had 5 others sharing my car with me. I was doing a bit of reading about Germany and France on the way.
Finally got to Praha on time. Walked around and took some pics soon after leaving the station. Saw the Opera House which was really cool. I needed to find WIFI to get a good price on a room. SO after asking multiple places and gettin a simple NO I found one that was right beside this hostel. Ordered another Turkish coffee being the cheapest item on the menu and enjoyed reading my emails and finding out about hostels. Stayed there for over an hour. People were smoking in the place which I hadnt seen yet. Kind of a fancy place where people were dressed up and having martinis. Found a place that was a decent price and I could make it in walking distance. Used Google maps for directions and I was off to find er. Too bad I didnt choose the right option. I picked driving and was wondering why I was going so far out of the way to make it back down by the river. Took me about 30 mins to find it when it said 4 mins. Driving of course!!! LOL The place was called Chilis. Seemed alright. But i never made a booking until i got there and he said Sorry were full. I was like oh it doesnt say that on the net. The guy was english I think. Total hippy looking dick. I ended up having to book the thing on the internet right in front of him to get the room. IT turns out he was thinking of tommorow when they are fully booked. HA sure
Got my stuff and walked up the steps to the room. Made my way in and everyone was hanging out around their beds. They were all British. First things first they offered me some vodka!! I know better than to not accept an offer like that. Even though I hadnt eaten in awhile I figure I could find something sooner or later. Famous last words.
They were totally friendly. THey were all friends one was from Scotland the others all English.Totally nice people. The other roomate came in and wanted to go to bed so he told us to keep it down. We decided to hit up a bar and get some cheap drinks. WHy not eh.
They had been there 7 nights so they knew most of the places that were close and recommened we check all of em out. One problem was they didnt take Euros anywhere. Thats all the currency I had and all the places were closed now being like 1030. I didnt want to take cash out cause I was leaving tommorow and it cost lots to take out money at foreign damn banks. Went to this bar and tried to ;pay with my visa for my piddly 1.50 drink. Nope but thank god they paid for me so I didnt have to do dishes or something. After that place was closing so we met some dudes on the way out and they joined the group. We found another bar just down the road and went into the basement where the noise was coming from. They played tons of rap which I hadnt heard other than on my ipod the whole time. NO tourists other than us in the place. We took way too many group photos. It was fun though.Got a bit drunk and then went out to take some cash out. I grabbed a donair while I was at it as well. Got back to the bar and they ordered me another drink. It was someone bday there and they were all drinking champagne. The music was just a computer hooked up to a system behind the bar. Kinda funky. After that we all stumbled back to the hostel. We stole some limes from the place and threw them at this sign of a guy. Kind of lame but it was funny at the time. HAHA Threw all my stuff on the bunk above and hit the sack. No train station sleep this time!!! NIGht night

Advertisement



Tot: 0.296s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 18; qc: 72; dbt: 0.1673s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb