Day Four: Prague


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
September 17th 2008
Published: September 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After an 8am breakfast (luxury) we went to Prague. The area we were staying in (Dejvika) was fairly average so it came as a huge suprise when we stepped out of the subway only to be surrounded by these beautiful old buildings. They didn't abate as we went further into the city as Prague (at least the centre of it) is composed entirely of beautiful old buildings. It is also very, very touristy: there were thousands of enticing, Aladdin's Cave type shops, allo of which were selling the same thing, but since I was only buying postcards I wasn't bothered.

Karluv Most (Charles Bridge) was very impressive, lined with statues and portrait artists. From there we went up the hill, to the changing of the guard at the palace, where we (or rather the idiots who climbed halfway up the probably very old gate and blocked our view from the convieniently placed scaffolding) got into trouble with the Palace Guard. Or shooed off anyway; which doesn't exactly instill this blog with much drama.

I split off from the group and found an internet cafe at lunchtime, which meant I could email my family, who I hadn't yet assured that I was still alive. After that I walked back over Kaluv Most and back up the very steep hill, round the palace, down the very steep hill and to the old Jewish cemetery. It seemed to be shut, which was probably a good thing, as I was very homesick and a graveyard probably wasn't the best place to be, no matter how historical.

One dinner and cutelry flapping session (apparently dish clothes are unhygenic, but I think they're filming us for a reality show) later I felt a lot better and ready to face the slightly less cold night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1205s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb