4th of July in Praha


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
July 4th 2007
Published: October 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Day 8 &9


PraguePraguePrague

Celebrating the 4th in Prague

No fireworks in Prague 😞



Woke up bright and early after night 2 in Berlin to blaze the trail to the Czech Republic via a stop in Dresden, Germany- a little mideval town with crazy baroque style churches and buildings. It was July 4th so I made sure I wore my red, white, and blue. I didn't care that there was only 7 other Americans around me- I have patriotism for my country! Needless to say, I was glad we were headed to Prague rather than Paris... Got into Prague or Praha as the Czechs call it in the early evening. A little delays at the Czech border, but everyone got through clear. (Czech Republic still is not a part of the EU so we had to stop at the border. Which meant I got another stamp for my passport - Yay!) We went out that night and sampled
the Prague nightlife. I was sad that I didn't get to sit at the beach this year and watch fireworks, but I got over it pretty fast once I pinched myself and realized I was in Prague! We went to some very fun places and did a shot or two of
AbsintheAbsintheAbsinthe

We celebrated with shots of Absinthe
absinthe to celebrate the 4th complete with melting sugar and fire. It was so gross and burned my throat horribly so I dont think ill be doing that again anytime soon. Besides the fact that I did have to blow out fire on the bar more than once and at one point someone's whole shot was up in flames since they "forgot" to blow the fire out on thier spoon before mixing the sugar in the shot. Seriously! We stayed out really late and I think it was one of the craziest nights of the trip. It was by far the scariest cab ride of the trip as well. Apparently in Prague you have to decide and agree on a cab fare BEFORE you get in the cab or else you get seriously screwed, so before we even got in the cab to go home I made Chad negotiate with the driver so we would get home with some money left in our purses. I guess he did a good job because our driver did even try to change the price. I think we were one of the lucky ones though because the next day a lot of people were telling stories about the thousands of krowns they had to pay to get home. That sucked for them!
Of course I had to get up very early the next morning which was really difficult and you can tell how tired I am from the horrible pictures of me that day. 5 nights out in a row were really starting to get to me. I'm just not as young as I once was...So the next day we did all the sightseeing and a cruise down the Vltava river and some major shopping. Lots of good shopping here. The only bad thing was I really had no idea how much anything was since in Czech they use krowns instead of euros and it was really confusing. I think when I went to the ATM I took out 1500 krowns and it ended up only being something like 40 US dollars. I just couldn't wrap my head around all of the conversions and I didn't really try since we were only there for 2 days. I really heard a lot of great things about Prague before I came here about how beautiful it was and all that, so I'm sorry to say I was a little disappointed. It was very pretty, but I found the whole attitude of the city to be a little bit "cold". It actually may have had to do with the actual weather too. It was COLD, and rainy the whole time we were there. And I really think that may have dampened my opionion of the whole place. But, I did have one of the best meals of the trip here at this great outdoor restaurant. The menu was really fun because they had pictures of all the food and you just pointed to what you wanted. I guess they were used to tourists who butchered thier language and found a good way to avoid it. I went home at 9 and called it a night because we all really needed a night off.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0234s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb