Summer Blog!


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
August 20th 2007
Published: August 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Summer blog

It’s finally summer here in beautiful Prague. I say finally because I arrived here in October, so it seems like it has been a while since I have seen the sun and gotten a tan! Being from California, the sun has always been a good friend of mine. But, like I said, it is defiantly summer here in the land of spires. One thing I am still getting used to is the long days. The sun is up here by 5am, and does not set until about 9:30pm! Talk about a long day! It gives me plenty of time to enjoy the city (and the beer gardens!) after work.

Another thing I am looking forward to are the MANY festivals going on around the city, and outside the city, for the next couple of months. This weekend is PragueStock - a dusk til dawn music festival featuring 8 live bands, multi-national musicians, businesses, schools, and individuals. I can’t wait! The day will feature special drink promotions, food from the lava grill, yacht speedboat rides, beer tents, and much, much more. The best part is that there is a festival like that just about every weekend here! Woo hoo!

I am also trying to get tickets for the Karlovy Vary film festival. I am a film buff, so it would be really fun to be able to see a film festival in another country. The Karlovy Vary IFF presents over 220 feature films and up to 40 short films from all over the world every year. Apart from the films in the special retrospectives, most of the films are screened in the Czech Republic each year for the first time, many of them in their world, international or European premiere as well. This year again, the audience will have chance to see interesting retrospectives and focuses apart from the traditional program sections. I also hear that Renee Zellweger is going to be there as a special guest. Cool! Not my favorite actor, but it would be cool to see her.
So those are my plans for the beginning of summer here. Work, work. Play play. Not a bad life, eh?

I’ll try to keep you posted!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.089s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb