Whatever happened to Fred??


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
June 27th 2007
Published: June 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Brad and Cal.. Did we leave him in Dublin?? Such importance in Dublin and then we just forgot him.. Hmm.. Dont know why I randomly thought of that, but I did....

ANYWAY Im now in Prague and Eastern Europe, and let me tell you, you definantely knew when you crossed the border.. At the German/Czech border the train stopped for at least 20minutes as the German conductors and drivers got off and the Czech ones, along with armed guards came on!! They then did a passport check in the presence of these guards, a little bit freaky let me tell you!!

Prague's main train station... OH MY GOD.. is all I can really say.. Its a total nightmare, its like another world.. and OH MY GOD.. People trying to sell you hotels, taxi drivers who you know will just rip you off and thats just as you step off the train! Then you got to make you way through the maze of a train station to get yourself outside! Then try and find the taxi stand and DO NOT head to the one that says official taxis!! They are privates cars and they WILL rip you off badly.. First hand knowledge of this! Finally got to my hotel, nice hotel but was just left thinking what the hell have I gotten myself into?! Next 2weeks in Eastern Europe and oh my god...When i arrived at my hotel I reread the notes Id made about Prague.. Places to avoid.. the train station!! haha well and truely!!

Walked out of my hotel and started exploring old town and all those worries disappeared!! Prague is just as I was expecting, cobblestone streets, amazing architecture.. the place is just fantastic!! Bohemiam glass is massive here as well, its everywhere! And its going to be very dangerous to my bank accounts so I must behave myself! No one to keep me out of the shops here!

My first dinner was at a restaurant with signs everywhere that repeated the same msg... the only bill is the printed till receipt, do not pay any bills if it is not printed out from the till!! obviously had some problems with tourists getting conned by smart theives!! lots of them here I believe.. Definately a place to be careful.. But rather cheap! Not overly cheap but compared to some places Ive been.. Definately cheap!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0219s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb