Welcome to Prague, where everyone speaks Spanish


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague » Old Town
August 24th 2013
Published: August 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

My first impression of Prague was definitely a good one. I arrived at my hotel to be greeted by the receptionist in Spanish which was quite a pleasant surprise and from that moment on, I knew I was going to like the city. It was a nice change to be in a city where English didn't seem to be the Lingua Franca and I just got a feeling that because of that Prague maybe wasn't going to conform to international standards like most of the other cities I've visited.

The thing I noticed about Prague though was that there just seemed to be tourists (mostly Spanish speaking) everywhere and I didn't see too may locals around although that may just be because I didn't really venture much off the beaten track and pretty much stuck to the tourist attractions. We started off our day at the monastery before heading down to see the cathedral and the castle, there's so much more to see in the castle than just the building its self, there's so much more within the grounds.

The highlight of the trip for me was a visit to the Kafka museum. I'm not gunna lie here, before entering the museum I had no idea who Franz Kafka was but I think that made the museum all the more interesting as I had so much more to learn. I usually find museums quite monotonous and they don't usually feature high on my list of places to visit but this museum was something different. There was so much variety in the layout, there was always something new and different to look at. If you're a fan of chocolate, definitely stop off at the chocolate museum and fill your bags with all the delicious delights they are offering in their shop. I would highly recommend any of the fudge they have.

The weather was nice so we had a lovely walk around the market in the Old Town and Petrin hill which has some beautiful views over the city. We also climbed one of the church towers late a night which gave a really nice view of the city at night. Even late in the evening there's still plenty going on in central Prague and the top of a church tower is a great vantage point to see everything and people watch.

I will say though that you need to be prepared to speak a bit of Spanish in Prague as it does seem to be the default language of the staff in shops and the waiters in restaurants, and surprisingly they seem to be able to speak Spanish to a reasonably good level, at least much better than people in any other European country I've visited. People will say that I got spoken to in Spanish because I look like a Spanish speaker (which I really don't) or because they overheard me speaking Spanish (they definitely didn't) but I heard it happen to lots of native English and German speaking tourists too so if you're planning on visiting Prague I would advise you to brush up on your Spanish before you go and be prepared to put it in to practice


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb