nemohi spát


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague » Old Town
August 11th 2008
Published: August 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, I am in Prague, it's pretty early and I'm eating slices of cheese for breakfast. Journey over was good, met some cool people in the departure lounge at Luton, and particularly enjoyed the views over the Czech Republic as we landed, of small industrial towns on the banks of several rivers. Arrived at the hostel and the company in my dorm who I've met so far have comprised a guy from london and three girls from harrogate - extremely strange coincidence when they could be from anywhere in the world.

The London guy and I spent yesterday evening drinking Staropramen in the hostel bar (for 25Kc a go, that's LESS THAN A POUND STERLING for a pint ladies and gentlemen, disco shit) while watching the Olympics and lolling forever at the fact that "pistol shooting" is considered a sport, when it just seems to involve firing a toy gun a la laserquest at a target. A few pints down I decided to introduce him to one of the few czech delicacies I knew of and we had shots of the most ridiculously lethal slivovice with which I have ever destroyed my oesophageal capillaries. This was probably a silly idea on my part as I hadn't eaten much, so I ended up giving in and went to sleep soon after.

I can tell there are going to be serious sleeping problems on this holiday.. notwithstanding the fact that my itinerary will not let me do much of it, this morning I must have slept something like 4 hours before waking up at the crack of dawn and not being able to resume. So after an hour of lying awake mulling over faithless lyrics in my head, I tiptoed out of the dormitory, and then set off walking into the city, as the hostel wasn't going to wake up til 8. To be honest, since I am going to have to wake myself up at 4am tomorrow to catch the zombie train to Karlovy Vary, this was probably a good thing.

Unfortunately I didn't take my camera with me, having left my bag locked up in the locker, because there were some quite stunning sights I would have liked to have photographed. I walked around in circles for a while drinking red bull (which is really bloody expensive here), not really paying attention to my usually quite sharp sense of direction, but eventually found the Staré Město (old town) and Karlův Most (the Charles Bridge), which is a really amazing place to sit and meditate at that time in the morning (probably not so later on when it becomes jam-packed with tourists). By the time I found the hostel again things were just about waking up. More entries on this fine city will follow, hopefully with photos!

Advertisement



11th August 2008

Hooray!
Your first proper blog entry...looking forward to the rest! Enjoy xx

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.118s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb