Inter-railers Aren't All Dirty and Smelly


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague » Old Town
April 12th 1992
Published: February 24th 2023
Edit Blog Post

River VitavaRiver VitavaRiver Vitava

And the view towards the Prague Old Town.
I left Berlin and travelled overnight to Prague. Since I graduated from the dirty, smelly inter-railer that I was a couple of years earlier (see Hilariously Funny Italian Army Comedians), I had a shower at the station when I arrived, before setting off to do the Prague tourist circuit (am I now a "tourist"? - see Living in Style in Khao San Road).

The shower cost the equivalent of 30p, for which I got a private room with a sink, shower and toilet for as long as I wanted it. An absolute bargain. I headed out refreshed, much like I did following a similar station show experience in Rome during my first go at Inter-railing (see The Best £3.50 Ever Spent). That cost over ten times as much, but was still worth it. 30p was a no-brainer.

Prague is absolutely beautiful; definitely one of the nicest places that I have visited in Europe. A day was only really long enough to cover it at a very superficial level, but it was still small enough for you to cover it on foot and see the main ‘sights’, at least from the outside.

The city is divided by the River Vitava, with one side (the side with the railway station) seeming relatively quiet (it
Prague CathedralPrague CathedralPrague Cathedral

Outside the cathedral.
was a Sunday), but it livened up considerably when I crossed to the other side of the river. I spent the day wandering around, taking in the sights and watching the changing of the guard.

Finally, I crossed back over the river to head back to the railway station. There was an amazing clock, which seemed to be the highlight of that side of the river.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Changing of The GuardChanging of The Guard
Changing of The Guard

The guard at the Parliament building.
ClockClock
Clock

Very impressive.


Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 22; qc: 70; dbt: 0.1041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb