Rich people, the same everywhere you go......


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague » New Town
August 21st 2012
Published: August 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Rich people are a riot!

Well not really; but they do make for interesting people watching.

I've always been a low key traveler; mud floors, hostels, train station benches are not beyond me. So when I joined Trafalgar I had to adjust my thinking somewhat and be welcomed to the high life. I'm staying at the Hilton Prague, which we use for our guests as do other operators, including 2 river cruise companies.

Let me preface this by saying all the Trafalgar clients I've met are honest, down to earth, fun people who have saved and worked hard for their vacation with us, and in general are great! But it appears the "other" type of people also stay here; rich, arrogant, snobby this hotel better revolve around my every whim people. Annoying as hell but fun to watch.

Example 1: as I sit here enjoying my breakfast one of the afore mentioned sits at a table near me and has not one, but 2 servers at her mercy, demanding a variety of food and beverage from them, (keeping in mind it's a buffet.) Just saying, self serve does not mean intimidate the poor staff into getting your juice, asking and buttering your toast and clearing your plates by snapping your fingers. Sigh

Example 2: (my fav). I'm standing by the concierge desk, awaiting my turn (I was next) when one of "those" showed up, pushed her way to the front with a rock on her finger the size of a grape, and starts dramatically sighing and tapping the counter demanding service. She finally cuts a staff member off mid word and was then politely told by said staff she was closed and walked away. OMG it was all I could do to not yell "one for the real people!" the audacity of some people blows me away.....

Anyhoo, I had a great sleep last night and am excited to start the next part of the journey to Budapest. I was there 4years ago with my dad and Jay and truly got the insider perspective (my dad lived here) and fell in live with the city and my heritage. I swear walking the streets was like being in my grandmothers house which always was so warm and welcoming, and a home away from home for me.

Knowing Gavin, the next 2 days will not disappoint and I'm curious to see how he shows us around. I know there is some secret stuff happening, and I think (hope) we get to experience a Be My Guest, a home cooked mean with a local family learning about their heritage, business and life in general, that would be SO cool! 2 days enjoying the Winners Reward Trip that I earned/won (yay me!) and then on to Vienna for actual conference with some more goodies thrown in. Awesome, I tell you, awesome! I haven't seen Vienna since 1994, when I was young, naive and poor so this will be a completely different experience, I'm sure.

Ok, let's backtrack and finish my previous blogs, and then it's time to find the shuttle and head to the airport.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.332s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 17; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0772s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb