First day at the schools


Advertisement
Published: March 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Ahhh… that smell is the same worldwide. Middle schoolers. It hits me like a wall when I walk into the building with Pavla. After meeting the Dean of Univerzita Hradec Králové and receiving my student ID, Pavla brought me here. It has all the makings of a typical American middle school; student paintings on the wall, hallways with lots of doors, and lots of awkward students roaming the halls on their way to class. We walked into the teachers’ lounge, which is very nice, and met Jane. She is a lovely 40something with blonde hair, blue eyes, and a warm smile. Jane’s ninth grade class is rumored to be exceptional and I have been given the honor of working with them for my practicum. We chat a bit about the students and I am given a thin, paperback textbook. Pavla uses a bus map to tell me where I need to go for the next two days. I’m still a bit groggy and did not sleep at all last night due to a combination of nerves and mom’s snoring. So, I do my best to keep up and feel like I will never find my way, but tell her that I am sure it will all be fine. We hug goodbye and she says she will see me tomorrow.

Jane and I go into the classroom. The students are standing at their tables and say something in unison when Jane walks in the room. She explains to them in English that I am going to introduce myself and spend some time in the classroom with them and then tells them to sit down. So, I tell them I’m from Michigan and ask what they know about Michigan. One boy raises his hand and says that there are cars made there. I confirm this, saying that Detroit is known as the Motor City. He raises his hand again and says that the Detroit Red Wings are from Michigan. I agree. Then I ask if they know anything else about Michigan. No one answers. I add that it is the Great Lakes State and that the 45th parallel runs through my hometown. Then, I draw them a sketch of my family farm and list off the animals we had when I was younger. I tell them about my time teaching English in Japan, and about Eastern Michigan University. Then, I ask them if they have any questions for me. The same student raises his hand and asks if I think the Red Wings will win the playoffs. I smile, and tell him the only time hockey is playing at our house is when John is watching it and I am dozing off for the night. I add that I will ask John whether he believes they will win. The student says that he doesn’t think they will win because they have lost all their good players. A few other students ask questions about my impressions of the Czech Republic (I answer favorably) and how long I have been here. I’m tired of talking about myself then, and so I give Jane control of her class once again.

Jane does a brainstorming activity with them about money and spending. They seem eager to speak English and I am asked to clarify/correct certain spelling and grammar errors made by the students. The class is over before I know it. Jane and I go back to the teachers’ lounge and talk about what we will do for the next class. She is very nice and very open to my suggestions, which makes me feel confident that this will work out well for both of us. Also, I’m pretty much itching to teach!

After this, I walk to the main station, find my bus, and ride to the shopping market to get a cord for my computer so that I can use the internet. I’m riding up the escalator when I hear, “Mom! Momma!” from a voice below. I look down and there is my little angel looking up at me. I came back down to the first floor and gave Ava and mom a big hug. Mom was glad to see me and looked completely exhausted (Ava will do that to people!). I took Ava with me to buy the computer cord. I asked the guy behind the counter if he spoke English. “Of course” was his arrogant response. I wanted to say, “No! Not of course! Most of the cashiers aren’t able to speak English. Not of course!” But I instead remained composed and smiled at him. He helped me get the computer cord and Ava and I headed home. I was able to connect to the internet right away, and spent the rest of the night posting the videos and photos to Facebook. I hope you enjoyed them. I don’t have any photos or videos for you from today, but will have some soon.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.349s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0615s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb