Kutna Hora and the bone church


Advertisement
Published: February 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I did another day trip after leaving my hosts in Prague. I'm glad I packed light but it still got to be quite tiring to carry everything with me. I'll need to offload some stuff if I can. Huh, never though I'd be saying that. Anyway, Kutna Hora is a cute town (as are most day trips in Czech). The cathedral ws really beautiful and since there were not many tourist, it was nice just wandering around there. I took in the sights before heading to the ossuary where the interior decoration was awesome but just a little creepy. The small little church has 4 crypts covered in bones and skulls and all the decorations are made from the bones of about 40, 000 people who were burried there. I can't remember names and details so the vague story is that some creative artist guy was let loose by the noble who was in charge of the area and this guy took the bones and made lots of decorations and even a chandelier that contains at least one of every bone in the body. Impressive but creepy. I'll try to get picture up soon but it's hard to do right now.

I was supposed to go from Kutna Hora to Hradec Kralove but a) there were no direct buses so the simplest route involved changing buses three times and b) I hadn't heard from my hosts at all so I wasn't sure I had a place to stay so I went back to Prague instead so I would be able to get a place for the night if everything didn't pan out. It was really frustrating that my host only contacted me quite late and so I did end up in Hradec Kralove but it cost me more and took about 3-4 hours since I went back to Prague then off th hradec kralove - 2-3 hours extra! I guess it had to happen somethng since everything seemed to be going so smoothly. Oh well.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb