Cakes and Kings


Advertisement
Published: May 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

First of all, the birthday was good. Thanks to all of you who called/emailed/shipped packages/flowers etc!! Just a few notes on the day..my boss (without knowing of the b-day at the time) took me out of work around noon and decided I was to run errands with him all day. Good part being that I got to see a nice portion of the country (Slany, Kralupy, etc) annoying part being that it was my birthday and I wanted to get my packages they told me were waiting!! haha When he did find out though, I got a nice birthday dinner, so I guess that worked lol. Nonetheless, everything else was picked up this morning. Thanks to my mom/dad/sisters/noni, my entire workplace thinks that I have some very well to do boyfriend in Prague (sidenote: I WISH!). They sent me a lovellyy bouquet of flowers for the b-day and the card was (obviously) in english, this my coworkers couldn't read it was from my family for the birthday.. and assumed otherwise.. haha. That was fun to explain..And contrary to popular belief, Mema's world-famous chocolate cake DOES survive world travel!! I'l post photos of the results once officially unwrapped/eaten later tonight. I tried explaining to my roommates that I was sent a chocolate cake from the USA and they looked at me like I was crazy until I took it out of the box to show them haha. Word for chocolate cake in Czech: cokolada dort (say: cho-ko-lada dohr-t).
ANYWAYS! This week we had the children's art opening/competition announcement. (Every year the museum I work at has an international childrens art contest..Not many from the states really enters, but everywhere else in the world does. I'm bringing entry forms back to distribute =] ) The girl who won this past year was from Croatia I guess, and as a winning thing, they flew her and her teacher out to Prague for the opening. They've been my new unofficial roommates for the past week. She's 11 and really sweet. (And speaks some English! haha.) And we went shopping today so all is good.. so while they were in town the museum wanted to take them to Karlstejn Castle.. a huge castle of Charles IV (important king, 1300s) about an hour south-west of Prague, and decided to let me tag along! It was wicked cool. My tour was unfortunately in Czech (3 vs 1, no
Photo 1Photo 1Photo 1

the cake's final destination
Anglictinu for me 😊 but the castle was still pretty awesome...and huge! It was on top of a big hill so it took forever to actually hike up to it, but the majority of the walkway had shops, so the walk down was lovely =). One of my tour guides thought he was cool and could get away with a name tag that said "Justin Timberlake". Not!
Alright, I'm off for now. I'll upload more photos from today when today finishes!! lol
<3


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

it makes it look all fairy-tale-ish =)
horse and carraige siestahorse and carraige siesta
horse and carraige siesta

apparently the driver was sleepy haha
Wishing you all were here!!Wishing you all were here!!
Wishing you all were here!!

me blowing out my birthday candles! =)
Photo 3Photo 3
Photo 3

the place I had lunch today. If you don't like creams/gravys/alfredos, do NOT come to this country...if you do, they're amazing!
Photo 1Photo 1
Photo 1

mural on the restaurant wall of the castle!
Photo 2Photo 2
Photo 2

lit up!
Photo 3Photo 3
Photo 3

me and famous cake.. lol


30th May 2008

oh you're aaallll alllonne on your birthday! how sad :(
1st June 2008

thanks tina. you're such a charming sister lol

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0606s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb