Slavonski Brod


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia
October 11th 2007
Published: November 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Thank God I smoke and drink, otherwise I don’t know how the Hell I’d make it through most of my nights (or, to be more precise, my evenings). Here I am in Slavonski Brod and, I won’t lie: I’m not entirely impressed. In fact, this is the first and only city in Croatia where nothing has wowed me right off the bat. I’m noticing the dirt, the rundown-ness, the holes in the buildings, hand I’m uncomfortable. I am, to be fair, starving, cold and half-lost, so I’m hoping tomorrow I’ll be a bigger fan on Slavonia.

The bus ride here was completely unpleasant: I had to pee so bad that I actually had a towel over my legs and a bag positioned underneath, and if the bus didn’t stop for ‘pet’ minutes in Karlovac when it did, I would’ve had to pee right there. Thankfully, the rest of the way to Zagreb was a little easier afterwards. I had a cheese pastry and a terrible bijela kava at the station, and when I turned on Sasa’s phone, I noticed that he had phoned. I have no credit, so I hope he phones back.

I got the bus to Slavonski Brod at 4:00 and watched the flat landscape out the window. 2 horus later, I arrived in town and had a hell of a time finding Strossmayer Street. I asked a street vendor (not street urchin) where it was, and thankfully I understood when she said it was past the ‘crkva’. I had to call the place, Magnus Rooms, to get someone to let me in the (very decent) room. Now I’m writing from down the street at - surprise! - a pizzeria, about to have some lasagne for a change. Grrr....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.382s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb