Croatia and Germany - Week 9


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Vela Luka
July 14th 2013
Published: July 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

<strong style="mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;">Day 56 – Vela Luka

I got to pull the main sail up today. It was pretty funny though because as soon as we got it up the wind completely died and we were going nowhere, haha. It became a practice drill and we took it down again. We have a race later in the week so we need to be confident getting everything up and down ourselves as the skipper is not supposed to help. I had a swim off the boat in what felt like the middle of the Mediterranean. The water is so calm and clear. I tried to stand up on a paddle board while being towed but only manage to fall off and take Monica with me. I might just stick to swimming from now on. We had a bus trip to Korcula for dinner and saw a lovely sunset. We climbed an old castle tower and had cocktails on the roof. The cocktails have to be pulled up the side of the building in a basket because the only way up and down inside is by a ladder.



<strong style="mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;">Day 57 - Vis

Another beautiful day today and I chilled out reading in the sun. Once we docked in Vis it became really hot and you could feel yourself burning as soon as the sun hit your skin. We organised to hire scooters and drive around the island but when we went to pick them up they had given them to another group. Our skipper was not impressed but there wasn’t much we could do about it. We had a nice group dinner in a fancy secluded restaurant and had a few more laughs.



<strong style="mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;">Day 58 – Bobovisca

Our boat got attacked overnight. ‘The Aussies’ had struck again. All week we kept hearing these crazy stories about what was happening on ‘The Aussie’ boat. It’s not quite an Aussie boat as there are 4 Aussies and 4 Kiwis but it’s the Aussies that are causing all the havoc. We woke up to palm prongs and watermelon everywhere. We laughed about it cause what else could you do. Their poor skipper was having a hard time with it all. Every morning he’d wake up and he’d be missing crew members (the aussies) and items from his boat. One Aussie was found out in the ocean on a lilo so they could pop back up anywhere really. Our skipper asked if we could not be put next to them for the final night, hehe.



We had the big race today. I was at my station on the head sail… raring to go. We had a lot of wind today so it was challenging but great fun. We had 3 crew members who were a bit sick and not in the mood for sailing but the rest of us got in there and did the best we could. We came 4th in our class (the bigger yachts). We were happy with that. Our skipper last week got a DNF – did not finish, haha. So we were happy just to cross the line. I was absolutely buggered by the end of the race. My arms hurt from winching and the wind/sun had taken it out of me. A lot of people partied the last night away but I was happy to be in bed early.

<strong style="mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;">

<strong style="mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;">Day 59 – Split

Last day on our yacht today and a little sad to say good-bye to everyone. It’s been a great trip but I was kinda ready to get off the boat to be honest. I needed a normal bed and a normal shower again. Mon and I headed back to Split for some more good food and gelato.



<strong style="mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;">Day 60 – Berlin - Germany

It was good-bye to Croatia today. I love Croatia. It has been good to me. Split airport was a bit of a nightmare but I got on the plane eventually. It was good-bye to Monica as well. She needed to fly back to Australia to return to work. One friend gone but I had another one waiting in Germany for me. I met Kellie at the airport and we found our way to our hostel in Berlin. We walked around a bit and got to know the area. We’re in quite a funky part of Berlin. Lots of hipsters and bizarre drinking spots.



<strong style="mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;">Day 61 – Berlin

Today we went for a big walk around but none of the shops were open. It was a bit of a ghost town actually. We walked past a few museums, parks and things. In the arvo we met up with our tour group. There’s about four tours combined in one so only a few people are going to be with us for the whole 23 days. Everyone seems really nice so far and willing to mingle. We had a group dinner with traditional German cuisine and it was soooo filling. I tried a raspberry beer cause that’s the only beer I could bring myself to drink. Maybe I can work my way up to normal beer by the end of the trip.



<strong style="mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;">Day 62 – Berlin

We had a bus tour of Berlin today. They took us to some monuments, the Berlin Wall and just drove us round really. We then had a two and a half hour walking tour which was pretty cool. We stood above Hitler’s bunker, walked through a holocaust memorial and saw the hotel where MJ hung his kid over the balcony (you know, the important stuff). Our guide was really knowledgeable and spoke on my level so I could actually understand what he said rather than half of it going over my head. We then hit the shops to get some air con. It’s been quite hot here. I have developed an obsession for fluoro orange so I had to get some sunnies and a top to match my orange fingernails. They look fab with my Croatian tan :-P

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb