Leaving Hvar and travelling to Trogir


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Trogir
September 29th 2018
Published: September 30th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Happy birthday Grace Whelan - 17 today!

I didn't set an alarm this morning so when I woke around 8:30 I remembered the AFL Grand Final had already started. I opened the AFL app to see the Magpies and Eagles were exactly even at 3/4 time. Checking out how the game had gone until this point made me grateful I had slept through the first 3 stressful quarters especially with the Eagles conceding the first 5 goals! Anyway, as anyone who follows the sport will know, the end result went the Eagles way by 4 points but not after a truly sensational/stressful last quarter. So cheers to all my family & friends who are Eagles supporters and commiserations to all my friends who are Magpies supporters (that would be you Lisa ?).

Now that's over - time to have breakfast and get my self sorted for the day. I was planning to check out around midday (Ana said I can check out whenever I want) so I took the time to repack everything. It's lovely to know all my clothes are now clean and ready for the next chapter on my journey. I was ready to leave the apartment shortly after midday but Ana wasn't home. I spoke briefly to her husband and understood she was at the supermarket. I headed off to walk to the harbour knowing this time was mostly down hill (yay) or flat. As I got close to the supermarket I saw Ana coming towards me! It was so lovely to see her and be able to thank her so much in person. She said to me, in her broken English, "thank you for staying in my apartment. You are good people". How lovely! I gave her a hug and we did the European kiss thing and then I was on my way. It was quite hot today and I was wishing I was down the beach! The walk to the marina was easy enough and then I searched for the agent that sold tickets in the catamaran I wanted to get - Krilo. After asking a lady selling lavender (it's a big thing in Hvar as they grow it) she pointed me in the right direction. 90 kunas later and I had a ticket on the 1pm catamaran to Split. I had some time so decided to go and try the burek - this is a Croatian speciality and their version of our sausage roll/meat pie type of dish. It is made with flakey pastry and has different filling options. I went for the chicken on the recommendation of my friend Rod. I also had time to have a macchiato then headed for the catamaran.

The trip from Hvar to Split only took about an hour and I loved being able to see the coastline of Hvar as we left the port. Once I arrived at Split Harbour I found a tourist office and asked how to get to Trogir by bus. I knew I had to get the #37 bus but couldn't work out where from. It was a fair walk to the bus station - about 15/20 minutes and on an uphill gradient for most of the way. It took me a little while to find it as the map was a bit hard to follow but I got there eventually. I started to ask a guy who was sitting at the bus station, where the #37 leaves from and he started to point just as the bus pulled up! That was lucky. I paid the driver 21 kuna and then took my seat. This bus is just a local bus so nothing fancy but there was room for me to put my suitcase, which was good. The ride was supposed to take 30 mins to Trogir but it was more like 50 mins. Still, it didn't matter because I didn't have to be anywhere by any set time. When the bus arrived at the station in Trogir, I only had a short walk across a bridge (Trogir is a little island but attached to the mainland by this bridge) and then along the first road to my hotel, Hotel Pasike. After checking in I found out that my room was on the second floor - and there was no lift so I had to lug my suitcase (which seems to be getting heavier!) all the way up. I am staying in this room for the next three nights, which is nice.

I ventured out to explore this little island of Trogir and it did not take me very long to do so! It really is tiny but oh so beautiful. I feel like I have stepped back into medieval times. There are many little cobblestone alleys but also many waterfront restaurants given how much of this piece of land is on the water. I stopped off at one spot to have an Aperol Spritz and sit back and watch the world go by. I then continued my walk around the island and checked out the sights.

After a short break back at my hotel I started feeling hungry and realised I hadn't eaten much that day. So, even though it was only 6:45 I couldn't wait any longer so researched on TripAdvisor and then headed to the #2 recommended restaurant because there was mention of a seafood risotto, which is what I felt like. I walked to the end of my alleyway administration it was right there - only 30 meters from my door haha. I settled in and ordered the seafood risotto and a glass of the local white wine. The risotto was one of the best I've had so far and the wine was shared, dry and delicious. Finished off my meal with an espresso macchiato and then went for a other walk around the town. Did a lap and then headed back to my room to relax and enjoy some downtime before my tour begins tomorrow.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.325s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 63; dbt: 0.1102s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb