I'd like to buy a vowel...


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Split
July 22nd 2007
Published: July 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Greetings from Split, Croatia. Just got in today after a very long day, actually 2 days of traveling. I left yesterday from Florence to go to Ljublijana (loob-li-ana) Slovenia. I went from Florence to Venice, where I had a few hours to kill after standing in the never ending, hot, line to make my reservation. I got some lunch at this restaurant that the girl working at the hostel I stayed at in Venice recommended. It was really cool, cafeteria style, big salads, and self-serve carafes of wine for 1.5 euro!! An idea that should catch on in the states! While I was sitting there, I realized that it seemed like everyone around me was carrying the same book. Now, I have been in a bubble in relation to news and pop culture, but I did know the one, world-wide event that happened yesterday...yes, the last new Harry Potter. So, I decided to hunt down an English copy, with success. I figure its worth lugging around as I have far more time to read it here than I will in the weekend I have at home before school starts.
Anyways, made it to Ljubliana and found the hostel easily. It was really nice, everyone staying there was super friendly. Met some more Brits (another med student!), Irish, and Australians. A group of us went to dinner and drinks and hung out. Ljubliana seems like a cool place, I would like to go back when I have more time.
Got up today and took a train to Zagreb to connect to Split. The first train got in a little late, just as the next was about to leave, which would of been no big deal, except...reservation required (I hate that!) So I got to wait 4 hours for the next train (I was quite glad to have Harry at that point). Ended up making it here, found my hostel after wandering for a bit, and now am enjoying the evening in Split. Tomorrow I take the ferry to Hvar, an island where I'm staying for a couple of days. Definitely looking forward to the beach!
Music: I have had this all in my head for weeks, and keep forgetting to put it down:
Songs: Arctic Monkeys: Flourescent Adolescent and Mardi Bum, Beatles: Here Comes the Sun (playing serendipitously as we watched the sun set multiple times over in Turkey), Cat Stevens: Wild World, Death Cab: Transatlantacism, Avril Lavigne: Girlfriend (I hate that I like this song, but it somehow became the Tenerife theme)
Bands: Little Man Tate (thanks to my new Sheffield friends), esp. European Lover and Sexy in Latin; Dogs Die in Hot Cars, esp. Somewhat off the Way and Glimpse of the Good Life; Jackie Greene, pretty much the whole American myth album

Advertisement



Tot: 0.391s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb