The last day in Dubrovnik and the home journey


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Dubrovnik
October 9th 2018
Published: October 9th 2018
Edit Blog Post

To make the most of my last day, I was up at 8 and showered and packed by 9am, so that I could go and have breakfast at Lady Pi Pi down the street. After a nice meal of freshly squeezed orange juice, macchiato long and a toasted ham and cheese sandwich with fresh tomato on the side, I was ready to hit the shops and wandered through the old city for the last time.

All sorted I left the apartment at 1:15 to make the walk to the bus stop, where I waited about 15 minutes for the shuttle bus to the airport. It was another beautiful warm day and I made the most of catching the last sun rays, before I will be inside for the next 33 hours ?. Bus to airport was all good, on time and all. I arrived almost 3 hours before my flight because the next bus would get me there too late. Vueling check-in was 2 and half hours before flight so I only had 30 minutes to wait. Or so I thought. Of course it happened later than expected and there was the mad push and shove once the check-in gate was announced.

My flight from Dubrovnik to Rome actually left 5 minutes early and arrived in Rome about 25 minutes early! Here was me thinking that so far, every cheapie airline I had travelled with had gone really well with no problems, and I was worried that this last one was going to be my downfall, given I need to connect with my international flight in Rome. Rome airport was also amazing - as Australians, now that we have the electronic passport gadget, we go through automated passport control so everything was so easy. My luggage came off one flight and with only a short walk I was able to check into my flight home to Sydney and then go and hangout in the Emirates lounge, which I am now doing. So, this will be my last update. All that is left is to summarise my trip below:

This is blog entry number 114, and these are the countries I have spent time in (in days):

Italy - 28
Norway - 21
Croatia - 14
Germany - 10
Ireland - 8
France - 7
Iceland - 7
Malta - 7
Sweden - 4
Denmark - 3
Northern Ireland - 3
Switzerland - 1

Signing off and see you in Oz

Advertisement



Tot: 0.252s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 61; dbt: 0.076s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb