Rainy Sunday in Varna


Advertisement
Bulgaria's flag
Europe » Bulgaria
July 26th 2009
Published: July 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello-

Yesterday was wonderful (and the hottest day yet). I went on a trip to the stone forest, a mosaics museum and some holy pagan sites. We danced outside of a cave in Madara while a musician dressed in traditional folk attire played for us. I had so much fun dancing that I forgot how hot the sun was. It was so fiery hot
at the stone forest, that I thought I saw my mother's face in a rock ! I yelled "Mommy, more water"!! I took lots of photos, but I have to upload them when I return to New York. Anway, I am such a bad blogger. I don't like using grammar in my blog entries and I just feel like writing random thoughts, so here it goes:

Funny tidbits:

I saw a pigeon today! He came from Brooklyn to say hi.

One of our team members is Turkish! I was so excited to say "Merhaba!"

I taught Vassil (the vice director) how to speak Brooklyn English. He was doing well, until he pointed his fingers like the "Walk Like an Egyptian" stance when he was pretending to order coffee in Williamsburg. I had to correct that! It looked soooo not Brooklyn.

Yesterday morning I answered the wake up call and the reception guy said " Hi, this is the police, you must leave the hotel immediately!" I was frozen and just stood there freaked out. He waited a good 30 seconds before he started to laugh. What a trickster!

I saw a Bulgarian Paris Hilton yesterday. Her skirt was the size of my sock and she had long pigtails and a ton of make-up on. She even had a little dog in her purse!

I have impressed everyone with my ability to make a little puppy barking sound and my wicked witch laugh was so good that Chris from England asked to record it. hahahaha...

Nationalities I have been mistaken for since I have been here:
Theo from Cali (member of my team) thought I was Lithuanian.
The antiques shopkeeper from Armenia was so happy to see me looking in his window because he thought I was a fellow Armenian!
Chris from England (a team member) told me that I look Isralei
A handful have told me that I look Greek.
Vassil is the only one who told me that I have an Italian face.

Basically no one looks like me here and tourists can't place my face either, so everyone is guessing. Also, no one giggles here. Bulgarians don't smile much either (with the exception of the Bulgarian directors of my site, they are jolly). Bulgarians like to stare and stand like models. They all look like they are ready for the runway. I really started stand out with my giggles and smiles, so I have been practicing my Bulgarian stare. It is pretty good. I think I can turn people into stone with it now.

Last night I returned to the hotel before my roomies and took a shower and went to sleep. I know that I had a clear bed before I went to sleep and I was facing the proper direction in my bed, but when I woke up at 9:30 this morning, I was facing the opposite direction in my bed and had clothes piled up where my pillow was originally. I was really confused, until my roomies told me that when they came back to the room at 4am, I "woke up" and started to take clothes out my suitcase and told them that I was just moving my clothes around. They told me it was not time to get up and I stumbled to the bathroom and then just fell back in my bed and went to sleep again (in the opposite direction). Ahhh.. mystery solved.


Okay, that is enough silly blogging for today. It is raining, so I am going to spend my free day in the cafe studying.

Bye!

Advertisement



26th July 2009

Very Funny!
That was so funny! I was laughing reading it! Mom and Dad and Katherine are almost home they are in Georgia right now they should be home by 6:00 tonight. Everything is going well here. Be safe and have fun see you soon!
27th July 2009

Hi
I can't wait to see your Bulgarian stare! That could come in handy on a shoot :)
27th July 2009

ahhaha. Yes, I will teach it to you!
27th July 2009

You are so funny! You should do stand up. So glad you are having a great time. Miss you

Tot: 0.432s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb