Is Sunny Beach really going to be the next Magaluf?


Advertisement
Bulgaria's flag
Europe » Bulgaria » Burgas Province
June 22nd 2015
Published: June 22nd 2015
Edit Blog Post


Nessebar
Sunny Beach - a new tourist attraction for Brits looking to get drunk on 80p a pint.

However, despite its new found strip, with a vague resemblance to its predecessor Shagaluf, Sunny Beach remains untouched by the stain of drunken youth culture that scarred Spain and Greece. I met a German woman in Hollister (the club, not a clothing store which I originally thought), who was shocked when I told her I was from England; she explained that it wasn't really an English destination.

We stayed in the Wela hotel, which was really pleasant. The pool was big, the rooms were lovely and the staff were helpful.

I highly recommend the Off Road Adventure. We had a guide called Ivan who was brilliant. He said we could call him 'Papa' and honestly, he made the excursion even better. For 90 Lev, you get a jeep ride up the Balkan Mountain, horse-riding, archery, rifle shooting, quad biking, lunch and a drink and a visit to a beautiful, secluded beach. It was easily one of the best things I have ever done in my life!

Also, Nessebar, which isn't often mentioned as a place to go, offers breath-taking views.

Off Road Adventure
It's home to around forty churches and a pretty cool film museum. It costs around 1.30 Lev to get there on the bus and it's worth it. It was historical, but also touristy enough to sell cute souvenirs - we bought elephant bracelets. There's also lots of restaurants that do affordable cocktails - piƱa coladas are my favourite!

However, I can't pretend this was just a holiday for culture and the beauty of Bulgaria (which you could totally go for anyway!). My three university house mates and I went out every single night and still managed to do things during the day. This was an absolute killer and I feel I misplaced half my mind somewhere on the strip, lost between the cheap booze and giant pizza slices. Seriously I think I would bleed Sex on the Beach. There are five main night clubs and lots of bars. I personally loved Hollister, Jacks bar and Vikings, however all the bars are reasonably priced and fun - you just need to find the right deals for you. The beach bars are also really good - Amigo I recommend for anyone seeking hot, male dancers.

I absolutely loved Bulgaria, it

Archery - embracing my inner Robin Hood
has found the right balance between culture, history and night life. If you're looking for a holiday that combines fun, cheap drinks but also excursions to Istanbul, mountain treks and views beyond your imagination I highly recommend this getaway. There's something for everyone. So in answer to my blog Title - no, I don't think Sunny Beach will be the next vodka binging central, it will be much more than that.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Paint party



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb