D26: Happy birthday on a bus


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium
July 26th 2013
Published: July 26th 2013
Edit Blog Post

That is correct - for the second (if not third?) year in a row I have spent my birthday in transit. Silly moi. At least today was a reasonable trip - Amsterdam to Brussels, change to train for Gent.

The bus ride to Brussels was lovely - I got two seats to myself, so I could kick back, relax and enjoy the scenery. (And the cows. So many cows. Oh. And the ponies. Cute little ponies.) As well, the original cast of Les Miserables provides an excellent soundtrack to a bus ride. Just sayin'

(Sidenote: Tumblr has ruined "Red and Black" for me because instead of "the colour of despair", I now hear "black the colour of dis bear" along with the picture of a black bear. Sigh.)

We hit really bad traffic about an hour away from Brussels so our driver came on the PA: "Alright, how about we take a little detour? I don't 100% know where, but enjoy the scenery and have patience." I like his style!

(It did end up being nice - driving through a few small towns. We definitely didn't save any time though. We got back on the highway after about 20min and it was still pretty slow goings... we got into Brussels about 35min late, but no biggie.)

Ah, ca fait du bien entendre le francais! Even if when you go to respond they are not so keen to hear YOUR french haha. I always love that. If you only say one or two words in French they tend to assume you just know a few words and reply in English (oh cute tourist, you tried) But whatever, I just continue in my CANADIAN French followed by a small grin as they switch back to French as well. Good enough system.

(Sidenote 1: Some girls asked me where something was in French. I replied that "je ne sais pas" to which they nodded and replied, "ohhhh, English?" I laughed so hard. I'm like (in French) "no I really don't know - I just got here." They thanked me for my time - at least it was in French 😉 lol)

The train ride to Gent was very squishy - ah, rush hour. I ended up finding a nook to sit in: the stairs to get off the train haha. So cozy sitting on the floor and stairs with people's bums pretty much up against my head. Nice. But, I did get a nice view out of the window (of the SCENERY! not their bums), so that's a perk!

I got quite the surprise arriving in Gent - it's festival time! Sweet! Now, how did I find this out? Oh, why when my tram just stopped and said last stop and I then had to wander through the festival area trying to find my hostel without having any sweet clue where I was going. Huzzah!

Hey, there are worse places to try and find your way. I got some great music in the process (in English and Flemish)

Once I found the hostel (actually, wasn't too bad I just followed the tram tracks down two more stops and then knew where I was), I was ready to explore!

First stop: mojito and the first music stage. I listened for a bit - kind of soft rock vibe - then continued merrily along.

I'd been planning a "real" dinner (restaurant) for my birthday, but then I saw about 20 locals in line at a stand in the meat market. (You know it'll be good when.... ) It was definitely worth the wait. I have no idea what it was (smoked bacon and something else with veggies) but it was delish.

I headed back into the festival, beer in hand, to enjoy more of the festivities. It's just fun to people watch and hear the different stages and types of music - who cares if you don't understand - a beat is a beat, emotion is emotion. I love it.

What a great little city this is - yes, nice surprise re: the festival but the buildings, the vibe, all very cool.

We also got a torrential downpour and thunderstorm - thank you mother nature for the beautiful gift! Figured it was a good excuse to go sit in a cafe and eat a chocolate waffle. (Birthday cake is overrated while travelling.)

On my way back to the hostel they were putting barriers up and people were lining them. Oh. I'm intrigued. Once again, I figured 'hey if the locals are doing it....' so I lined up too haha. It was still raining, but I had my umbrella and we were close to the first music stage I'd gone to, so I was a happy camper.

I have no idea what I watched...?! hahahaha. It was entertaining though! It was a parade of sorts... but steeped in tradition? I think? I didn't understand any of it, of course, but it was fascinating to watch.

It started with a handful of older men running out into the street, bare foot, in white nightgowns? And getting stopped by the "guards". I was so lost, but loved it. They then "hung" one of the old men and I really was like ... wait, what it happening here??

There were drummers and pipers and everyone was dressed up in traditional clothing and the kids were holding up some signs (family names? companies? not quite sure). Some people who were dressed up really fancy were being (playfully) boo'd and then the men from the beginning (in white) walked out joined by, oh man, easily at least 30 others dressed in white, all with ropes around their necks walking in a single file. The crowd cheered for them.

I'm assuming there is a story/history there. If the internet cooperates (WHY does wifi hate me everywhere on this trip?) I shall try and find answers. Regardless, very cool to watch.

Tomorrow I'm bumming around here a little while longer before heading a bit further north. A bientot!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb