Belgium Weekend


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium
July 6th 2009
Published: July 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Here are just a few of the many pictures I took on my weekend trip to Belgium. I wanted to get some sent out before I head off to Africa, because otherwise, I won't be able to post them until August. Belgium was wonderful. The entire family took me in and treated me as if I was a part of their family. They showed me around all of the sights in Vodelee and Saint Gerard, including the cave, a water source, the sight of the plane crash, the mill, and a memorial to the airmen.

I'll post a more thorough blog on this eventually, promise!


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Valerie'sValerie's
Valerie's

Our apartment for the weekend.
In VodeleeIn Vodelee
In Vodelee

On our way to the cave.
Snake Snake
Snake

Along the path to the cave.
Water sourceWater source
Water source

Used for drinking and cleaning, this fountain has been around for a while. Also, Valerie's children, Lola and Raphael.
Water sourceWater source
Water source

Again...
CaveCave
Cave

The cave where my Grandfather lived for months during the war, and descendants of the family who cared for him during that time.
CaveCave
Cave

Another view
CaveCave
Cave

and another.
CaveCave
Cave

It was interesting to see how this cave was only slightly visible from the area around it.
StreamStream
Stream

Playing in a nearby stream.
The MillThe Mill
The Mill

Where my Grandfather used to spend time.
ChapelChapel
Chapel

There are some people that make a pilgrimage here to celebrate Santa Maria.
1942 Jeep1942 Jeep
1942 Jeep

We even looked at the registration. Driving around the countryside in this was amazing.
KidsKids
Kids

The kids also loved the rides in the jeep!
Playing with the kidsPlaying with the kids
Playing with the kids

The kids loved having a water fight with me!
Sprawling fields...Sprawling fields...
Sprawling fields...

Belgium is full of beautiful countryside.
Crash site - St. GerardCrash site - St. Gerard
Crash site - St. Gerard

Where my Grandfather's plane crashed.
MemorialMemorial
Memorial

In memory of the American airmen.
Plane remnantsPlane remnants
Plane remnants

On the right is the largest piece of the plane recovered. I am holding a shell from a bullet found near the crash site.
John and the memorialJohn and the memorial
John and the memorial

John explaining the memorial and that he brings flowers to the memorial every 4th of July,
ReplicaReplica
Replica

A replica of the "Sack Hound" plane. Up front, John pointed out the place where my Grandfather would have sat.


8th July 2009

WOW!!!!
Hi Kristi - We have followed the Belgium story through Doug! We are as impressed with your quest to visit the place so important to your grandfather's survival, as we ever have been with anything. You are truly to be commended!!! Know that it made your mom very proud!!! Congrats!!!

Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.043s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0629s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb