In Bruges (Day 54)


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » West Flanders » Bruges
July 7th 2010
Published: July 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

msmsms

main square
Bruges is a well preserved town up in Flanders that used to be much more prosperous than it is today and the place gives off that feel quite a good deal. Now it's really just a big tourist destination but as some might put it, the city absorbs it quite well which I agreed with. It kind of reminds of me of Amsterdam Lite (yeh, I am writing this four days late). There are a bunch of small canals that weave through the town with cafes, chocolate and waffle shops and fry stands all over the place. Spent my afternoon there just wandering around with nothing to see in particular yet enjoying everything I saw. I also wanted to make a point of eating all the stuff they say you should eat in Belgium even if it is all aimed at tourists. Got my fries with sauce and a waffle with choclate covered strawberries. I was pretty happy with myself. It had been drizzling all day which I really didn't mind but it started to pour so I ducked into a nearby cafe/bar which I was going to do anyways for the Argentina-Germany game. All this meant was I could try
churchchurchchurch

church across the canal
an extra Belgian beer so that wasn't really a problem. The beer here really does live up to the hype. Even the cheap stuff which you can find anywhere is pretty good. Usually a pretty solid Blonde beer at worst. From there you can really go in any direction. They've got something for everyone and it's no more expensive than anywhere else.

Had a good time here watching the game with some Brits and talking to the barkeep. I think he may be the only Belgian person I talked to in Belgium and my favorite part of this is that he hates his own country ha. Says people are never happy even though they have everything they need. Interesting take. Went out tonight to some pretty cool cellar bar and had a few more beers with the usual crowd here before heading home where we played that game from Inglorious Bastards (guess the name of the celeb on the paper stuck to your forehead) till the early morning. Good times. I think today is pretty much the end of my Belgian experience. Tomorrow is America's day and after that it's on to Holland.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

canalcanal
canal

one of the many picturesque canals
penispenis
penis

who wants belgian chocolate? haha
towertower
tower

tower from the main square


10th July 2010

Bruges
Bruges is a must-see but a tourist trap nonetheless. I recognise the words of the Belgian who said people are never happy even though they have everything they need, though if he hates his country, he should perhaps travel around a bit ... "From Belgium with love", Jan.

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0646s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb