First taste of Belgium


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Liège Province » Liège
March 16th 2006
Published: January 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I was lucky enough to have two Dusseldorf trips one after the other, which was just as well after the previous days' episode. I went straight to the central station and made sure this time i had got on the right train. I arrived at a place called Aachen which is just before the Belgium border where i had to change trains. It was a quick 10 minute journey over the border where i had to change trains again. Forty five minutes later i was finally in Liege. Got out of the station to find out that if i wanted to go to the city centre i would need to catch ANOTHER train. So by the time i got there it was already dark and i only had a couple of hours to look around before taking the last train back.

I wasn't sure what there was to look at, and didn't have a map, so just started walking. Saw this amazing palace just down from the station which was really beautiful. Walked along narrow lanes filled with restaurants. I was pretty hungry but as i didn't have enough time thought it best to walk around and see whatever there was to see. Walked past the town hall which was very grand. Stopped in at a hotel to get a map from concierge to work out where i was going and to find a good belgium pub. He recommended a place close by so made my way there.

There were a few people in there mainly sitting down at tables and i noticed one other girl sitting at the bar. I only had half an hour so pulled up a seat beside her. I was keen to try some belgium beer but with over a hundred different varieties was not an easy choice. Belgiums love their beer! Started talking to this girl beside me called Nadine who was friends with the bar staff. She was really nice, only problem was she couldn't speak english and i couldn't speak french. Nevertheless we managed to communicate quite well with the help of a bit of sign language. She walked me back to the train station as she was on her way home. She gave me her number and told me that if i ever make it back to Liege i was welcome to come and stay with her. The one thing i love about travelling on my own is the opportunity to meet so many people. Four trains later i finally made my way back to Dusseldorf.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0646s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb